9 replies to this topic

#1 fallenangle

fallenangle

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 29 October 2010 - 01:11 PM

I'm new to this but I've been playing around with the two editable UnleashX skins I have (via their skin.xml using UnleashX's File Explorer) and, I think, made some distinct improvements in their look ie. changed fonts, colours position of text etc.

It occurred to me I could do a similar thing for XMBC where my Project Mayhem III skin's default greyness is a little dull. Basically I'd like to add some colour.

I don't have a PC or I wouldn't be asking this but is there anything against me changing the XBMC skin.xml hex colour settings using the UnleashX File Explorer?

Also can somebody explain why things like .xml and some other file types can be opened/edited using the UnleashX File Explorer whilst not using XBMC's own File Manager.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

X-S Legend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 October 2010 - 01:41 PM

UnleashX built a file editor into his file manager, and associated it with .txt and .xml files. The XBMC developers didn't - that's why you can edit .xml files in UnleashX but not in XBMC.

There's an XBMC notepad script that allows you to edit text files, and as it's a python script it should be fairly easy to modify to do whatever you want. I'm not sure it works with the latest XBMC builds, but it's probably worth a try.

#3 fallenangle

fallenangle

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 29 October 2010 - 11:05 PM

Thanks, as usual smile.gif

I also wanted confirmation that there's no problem editing the default XBMC PMIII skin.xml using UnleashX to try adding some colour. I think it can be edited using UnleashX but I don't want to do it and find it stuffs up something else in XBMC. I can't imagine what but it's safer to ask first before doing anything.