Jump to content


Photo

Flashing A Benq With A Laptop


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 humidrastaman

humidrastaman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 07:13 PM

What would be the required gear to flash a benq drive with a laptop? Could someone give me the link to the model of sata card i would need? Is this doable using a usb to sata cable?

#2 Xaian

Xaian

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 07:34 PM

ATM Im not sure

unless your laptop have a esata and a via chip the only way I know how is with blaster.

one user posted this on team xecutors site

hello everyone.

I have Blaster 360 ver. 2 (Works with all drives) along with CS 110v AC to 12v DC Power Supply with 4 Pin Molex Adapter, & USB 2.0 to SATA High Speed Cable, and a "Dell laptop", & in software part, i have Maximus 360 Firmware Toolbox v3.0 and all others game security scanners software to break their code and back them up and also burn them .... (I'm pretty much set)... I was surfing all around the web looking for a usefull tutorial that could guide me step by step how to flash my 360... I found lots of tutorials in http://www.team-xecu...com/blaster360/ and xboxscene.com but they don't have anything to do with blaster 360 v.2 and sata to usb converter and Specially flashing with laptop !!! could someone link me with a usefull toturial related to all these.

Cheers!


#3 iateshaggy

iateshaggy

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,514 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2010 - 07:48 PM

you can't flash w/ a laptop.

#4 soulwarrior

soulwarrior

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:12 PM

QUOTE(iateshaggy @ Nov 6 2010, 02:48 PM) View Post

you can't flash w/ a laptop.

Wrong
http://www.diygadget...r-xbox-360.html

for power:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16812706011

for connectivity
http://www.diygadget...r-combo-78.html
or xecuter or whatever



#5 Babilozzo80

Babilozzo80

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Dolomiti
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:18 PM

QUOTE(soulwarrior @ Nov 6 2010, 08:12 PM) View Post


This is very cool adapter! wow cool.gif




#6 Xaian

Xaian

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:22 PM

most laptops today do not have pcmcia ports though.

#7 Babilozzo80

Babilozzo80

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Dolomiti
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:37 PM

It's true but probably be done with express card to pcmcia adapter like this ?? boh! blink.gif

But is very expansive I think the best is use pci via sata card with desktop pc always!

Edited by Babilozzo80, 06 November 2010 - 08:40 PM.


#8 iateshaggy

iateshaggy

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,514 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:43 PM

i know it can be done, but i also know that it can't be done by anyone who has to ask. even if the lappy does have a pcmcia slot, driver conflicts can still shut you down (even using uniata drivers).

#9 mooch49

mooch49

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 128 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 10:23 PM

i flashed my benq's on a laptop with no problem using intel chipset. but mine has an esata port. you just need a esata-sata cable. also make sure you change to ide mode in bios from raid or ahci. i used the latest jungleflasher as well.

also, you will need an ac to dc adapter; http://www.newegg.co...0-249-_-Product

Edited by mooch49, 06 November 2010 - 10:25 PM.


#10 Babilozzo80

Babilozzo80

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Dolomiti
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2010 - 11:04 PM

QUOTE(mooch49 @ Nov 6 2010, 10:23 PM) View Post

i flashed my benq's on a laptop with no problem using intel chipset. but mine has an esata port. you just need a esata-sata cable. also make sure you change to ide mode in bios from raid or ahci. i used the latest jungleflasher as well.

also, you will need an ac to dc adapter; http://www.newegg.co...0-249-_-Product


wow! I dont'have a esata-sata cable but, wow! smile.gif I own an asus notebook m51se and I think for tomorrow, make "hand made sata esata adapter" hihih .... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif and so, I look soon for testing my intel ich8 with esata JMicron JMB360 work with jungleflasher too.
dry.gif I hope smile.gif wow!! maybe I post son as possible more info for guys
sleeping.gif

#11 Babilozzo80

Babilozzo80

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Dolomiti
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 November 2010 - 06:23 PM

Good news for I'm ! Many Thanks to mooch49 for idea to change sata operation mode into the pc system bios

JungleFlasher work well whit my laptop, wow smile.gif I try to send vendor info three times before got flash ok, liteon is without MRA hack,I intend.

Follow any pics of my work today biggrin.gif

Connect drive to esata port "with hand made converter"
IPB Image

This is a detail for nOObs
IPB Image

Another panoramic view biggrin.gif
IPB Image

JF correct seen dvd
IPB Image

It's interesting for cross spoofing of liteon is not supported..
IPB Image

So now it's time to erase !
IPB Image

Link to other step of sending vendor info after LiteOn erase
frist try no luck sad.gif
second try, got 0x72 but unknown flash
thrid try, Bingo! biggrin.gif

Now reflash with stock fw
IPB Image

Ata outro. Good! Thanks !
IPB Image

Also follow my JF log.
I'm so happy jester.gif of course any question or comments It's welcome.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
JungleFlasher 0.1.75 Beta (152)
Session Started Sun Nov 07 15:48:05 2010
This is a 32 bit process running on 2 x 32 bit CPUs
portio32.sys Driver Installed portio32.sys Driver Started, thanks Schtrom !
Found 9 I/O Ports.
Found 11 Com Ports.Found 4 windows drives C: D: F: H:Found 2 CD/DVD drives D: H:
Drive is Lite-On..
Sending Lite-On-Erase request to port 0xBC00..............
Drive returned Status 0xD0..................
Device Intro failed!
Sending Vendor Intro to port 0xBC00
Serial flash found with Status 0x72
Sending Device ID request to port 0xBC00
Manufacturer ID: 0xF2
Device ID: 0xF2
Flash Name: Unknown type
Flash Size: n/a
Sending Vendor Intro to port 0xBC00
Serial flash found with Status 0x72
Sending Device ID request to port 0xBC00
Manufacturer ID: 0xC2
Device ID: 0x11
Flash Name: MXIC(MX25L2005)
Flash Size: 262144 bytes
Getting Status from port 0xBC00
Serial flash found with Status 0x72
Loading firmware file C:\JungleFlasher v0.1.75 Beta (152)\firmware\74850C.BIN
MD5 hash: a1241f2c2e9ca989dfa86eb9c1c8ef0a
Drive key @ n/a 55AA55AA55AA55AA55AA55AA55AA55AA
Firmware Osig: [PLDS DG-16D2S 7485]
Firmware is: Stock
Getting Status from port 0xBC00
Getting Status from port 0xBC00
SPi flash found with Status 0x72
Sending Chip Erase to Port 0xBC00
Erasing:............
Writing target buffer to flash
Writing Bank 0: ................
Writing Bank 1: ................
Writing Bank 2: ................
Writing Bank 3: ................
Flash Verification Test !
Reading Bank 0: ................
Reading Bank 1: ................
Reading Bank 2: ................
Reading Bank 3: ................
Write verified OK !
Sending Vendor Outro to port 0xBC00
Drive is Lite-On..
Sending Vendor Intro to port 0xBC00
Status 0x51

Edited by Babilozzo80, 07 November 2010 - 06:50 PM.


#12 krizalid

krizalid

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 612 posts
  • Location:Mexico
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 November 2010 - 07:57 PM

I did it witout esata, using the HDD sata conection on an Acer Aspire 5100 (cheap shit computer)!

What I did was simple. Get Windows XP runing off usbstick, install what's necessary for jungleflasher to work properly and that's it. Conceto any 360 drive to sata under laptop, and powerup with external psu (I use Maximus Xtractor and to power up the molex, an external IDE HDD case for the psu).


That's it. Nothing hard!

#13 Xaian

Xaian

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 08 November 2010 - 12:29 AM

Here, you'll find out what you need and how to flash your Xbox 360 with a laptop. This does not show how to mod your Xbox, just how to setup your laptop to be able to mod Xbox's. For the best Tutorial, just follow Jungle Flasher's latest tutorial here.

Requirements:
Laptop with Windows that has a PCMCIA/Cardbus or ExpressCard slot
Power Supply (Can be through the Xbox or Maximus/Ck3, etc.)
For USB-powered Maximus, follow my Tutorial.
For a Travel source for the Maximus, get this
VT6421/VT6421a Cardbus/PCMCIA 2-port Sata card or here
ExpressCard to Cardbus/PCMCIA Adapter (Only if you have the ExpressCard slot - Most newer laptops)
Latest JungleFlasher
Latest Via Drivers (works with Windows 7 x64)

What you should already have:
Xbox 360 taken apart, and DVD Drive taken out.
Any tools needed for newest Lite-On drives if needed.

STEP 1
Put the Cardbus card into the laptop if you have a Cardbus spot.
If you have an ExpressCard slot, put the Cardbus card into the adapter, and then into the laptop.

IPB Image

Step 2
Cancel any automatic driver installs if any popup.

Step 3
Install the Via Drivers using Setup.exe.
If you get this: you don't have the card plugged in right, you have the wrong card or the card is not compatible with your laptop:

IPB Image

Install Instructions:
Click Next
Check Agree - Click next
You can uncheck the V-raid Config Utility if you want - Click Next
Click Next
Wait for it to install
Click Next
Check "NO", click Finish
NOW DELETE "C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\Viamrx64.sys"
Restart your computer


Step 4
Check Device Manager to see if the Raid Device is installed.
You can Get to it by clicking the start button and typing "dev man" and clicking enter or through Control Panel -> Hardware and Sound -> Devices and Printers -> Device Manager
It should be located under Storage Manager:

IPB Image

Step 5
Now, before you are able to use this with JungleFlasher and Windows 7, you have to follow these instructions directly from JungleFlasher readme file:

QUOTE
Safe Way of Disabling Driver Signature Enforcement
1) On Windows 7 bootup press F8 to get to the extended boot options screen
2) Choose "Disable Driver Signature Enforcement"


IPB Image
You have to do this every time you start up your laptop and are wanting to mod an Xbox. If you don't want to have to do this every time, follow this:

QUOTE
1) Disable User Account Control (UAC)
- go to "Start Menu" > "Control Panel" > "User Accounts and Family Safety" > "User Accounts"
- click on "Change User Account Control settings"
- set the slider bar to the lowest value (Never notify) > click "OK"
2) Sign the DosFlash driver
- download the "Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider" (DSEO) from
http://www.ngohq.com...e.php?page=dseo
- start DSEO > click "Next" > "Yes" > choose "Sign a System File" > "Next" > enter the path to
the used driver (portio32.sys or portio64.sys) > "OK" > "OK"
3) Disable Driver Signature Enforcement
- start DSEO > click "Next" > "Yes" > choose "Enable Test Mode" > "Next" > "OK"
4) Restart the computer

This way will make Driver Signing disabled permanently.

Step 6
Plug your Sata Cable from the Cardbus Card to the DVD Drive and Power the DVD Drive however you wish. Turn it on.

IPB Image

Step 7
Open JungleFlasher.
If you see something like this, then you're good to go!
IPB Image
Check "Via Ports Only" in JungleFlasher to show the ports using your new VIA card.


Hope you enjoy portable modding!


This is not my guide an credit goes to Scottocs

#14 Babilozzo80

Babilozzo80

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Dolomiti
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 November 2010 - 12:55 AM

QUOTE(Xaian @ Nov 8 2010, 12:29 AM) View Post

Here, you'll find out what you need and how to flash your Xbox 360 with a laptop. This does not show how to mod your Xbox, just how to setup your laptop to be able to mod Xbox's. For the best Tutorial, just follow Jungle Flasher's latest tutorial here.


Yes You be right man! ph34r.gif JF Tutorial is a Holy Bible of modder's Religion ! ph34r.gif

My test is simple enjoy good work of JF team all "power user" smile.gif can do make only with few crap biggrin.gif I try it today for first time I not need others strangers questions it's simply cool laugh.gif , only I happy to find it my way, but is possible only for knowledge of JF master!! Enjoy man!

Edited by Babilozzo80, 08 November 2010 - 12:57 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users