• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 DEFCON_Zero

DEFCON_Zero

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 03:58 PM

I'm totally new to this scene and seeing as I don't have a few grand to buy a desoldering machine, I decided to opt for the heatgun method. Here's my account of trying to remove my GPU and I hope you can help.

My first mishap happened when my heat padding failed and one of my capacitors popped. (yes, in my face)

http://i54.photobuck...x/IMG_27571.jpg

I'm not sure what kind it was but I'm hoping you guys can help me in finding a replacement. Now, when this happened, I had to stop my heatgun when my GPU was a bit lifted. Needless to say, my GPU is now warped and I'm wondering if this a big deal?

http://i54.photobuck...kx/IMG_2754.jpg

Lastly, when I managed to take the bastard out, I noticed some hair thin wires coming out of the mobo. Is this anything to worry about?

http://i54.photobuck...x/IMG_27581.jpg

Is this thing salvagable?

Edited by RDC, 15 November 2010 - 07:00 AM.

#2 m82a1

m82a1

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 November 2010 - 04:21 PM

the hair thin wires are traces, and judging by how much i see all tangled up, i'm gona say you are screwed. sure u can get some to attempt to repair it...

#3 DEFCON_Zero

DEFCON_Zero

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 04:29 PM

How exactly would I fix the traces? Where are they supposed to connect to?

#4 iateshaggy

iateshaggy

X-S Hacker

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,514 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 November 2010 - 04:32 PM

rework station = few hundred dollars
reball equipment = 100 more dollars
not destroying your xbox = priceless

#5 m82a1

m82a1

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 November 2010 - 06:11 PM