Photo

What's The Highest Quality Type Compatible?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ocmdiaz714

ocmdiaz714

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 December 2010 - 04:26 AM

I have already ripped the DVD and in the process of encdoing to H.264 by using the guide available on the XBMC wiki website, but the process is likely to now take over 8 hours. Is there a better a faster alternative?

#2 Smothermunchie

Smothermunchie

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 02 December 2010 - 09:42 PM

I'm a newb to this and haven't read anything but.....

Using DVD Shrink, 100% uncompressed, I just transfer the Audio and Video folders over to the hard drive and play it that way.

It looks exactly the same as a DVD.

Only problem is because my hard drive is small, I can only play about 1 hour and 40 minutes like this.

Cheers.

#3 l11l1VeNoM1l11l

l11l1VeNoM1l11l

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 December 2010 - 06:26 AM

QUOTE(Smothermunchie @ Dec 2 2010, 01:42 PM) View Post

I'm a newb to this and haven't read anything but.....

Using DVD Shrink, 100% uncompressed, I just transfer the Audio and Video folders over to the hard drive and play it that way.

It looks exactly the same as a DVD.

Only problem is because my hard drive is small, I can only play about 1 hour and 40 minutes like this.

Cheers.

OUCH! No, don't do it like that. If you're using XBMC on an Xbox, your best bet is to either A.) Rip the DVD in an AVI format, or B.) make an ISO from the disc and leave it on your computer's hard drive.

XBMC will stream ISOs over a network, giving you all of the DVD's menus, dolby digital surround sound, and full quality video. I've played a ton of DVD movies like this without running into ANY problems.