• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 elsoltano

elsoltano

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 July 2003 - 07:48 PM

I realize the probably properly belongs in the Modchips forum, but I'm completely new at this and don't want to ask something that's been asked multiple times. I've been reading tutorials and did several forum searches but I wanted to ask your advice on where to begin my troubleshooting (since there are multiple suggestions in most Chameleon threads).

I just installed my Chameleon using the pinheader method on a 1.0 Xbox, the only wire I soldered was d0. When I turn on my xbox it beeps, flashes green, pauses for a second or so, flashes green multiple times, beeps again, pauses again, then flashes red and green. I get no video during this procedure (I'm using SVideo).

I've taken the chip out and booted the Xbox and got the normal MS boot screen w/ video and audio.

I'm fairly new at soldering so I suspect that is probably the case. But I've read everything from twisting your Chameleon to using a multimeter to check the pins to the fact that some Chameleons seem to ship unflashed.

Now my total newbie opinion goes as follows: If my XBOX is FRAGing it is probably because it is trying to load a BIOS from the Chameleon but is failing, leading me to believe that my chip came unflashed. But again, total newbie biggrin.gif .

So where would you begin troubleshooting this?

Thanks in advance!

#2 dink

dink

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts

Posted 04 July 2003 - 07:57 PM

I get no video during this procedure (I'm using SVideo).

You need to use Composite (Yellow RCA) from the orignal A/V pack.

Threre is another thread from"Installing Mod Chips" forum, that may help you too

#3 elsoltano

elsoltano

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 July 2003 - 07:59 PM