Jump to content


Photo

3tb Xbox Possible?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 reliantkcar

reliantkcar

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 01 January 2011 - 01:48 AM

ok so I saw a 3tb harddrive here

http://www.microcent...duct_id=0347995

http://www.microcent...duct_id=0350724

I already filled my 2tb and now I want to upgrade

is this possible I have done 20,40,60,80,120,160,320,500,1tb sata and 2tb sata

any input would be apreciated I can buy the drive tomorow if it is possible to do this. I have about every version xbox and good ide cables and sata adapters also

oops can you move this to original xbox secetion

#2 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 January 2011 - 04:00 AM

All indications point to "no". The only available LBA48 implementation for the system is more like LBA32, meaning it won't recognise any more then 2.2tb.

#3 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 01 January 2011 - 06:38 PM

QUOTE(Bomb Bloke @ Dec 31 2010, 09:00 PM) View Post

All indications point to "no". The only available LBA48 implementation for the system is more like LBA32, meaning it won't recognise any more then 2.2tb.

and even if it could there would be no way to partition it, as the largest partition that can be used is 1tb (youd have to figure a way to implement a 3rd extended partition)

#4 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 January 2011 - 12:07 AM

As of a few months ago (thanks to ldotsfan), XBMC can now access up to about seven or eight extended partitions (and XBPartitioner has been able to format additional ones for who knows how long). Currently, my 750gb drive is divided up into three chunks of about 250gb each - F, G and R. The extra partitions work the same as F/G do for the purposes of launching games and so forth, though only XBMC lets you access them.

Edited by Bomb Bloke, 02 January 2011 - 12:09 AM.


#5 dballs442

dballs442

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:Durango, CO
  • Interests:Sustainability, Playing music, Mountain Biking, Snowboard, Games, Micro Beer, Camping, River Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 January 2011 - 10:19 PM

so could you have three 1tb partitions?

#6 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 12 January 2011 - 12:24 AM

You could, if the X-Box had access to true LBA48. But apparently it doesn't, so the maximum you'd be able to assign seems to be 2.2tb (two 1tb partitions and a 200gb partition).

This is assuming the figure ldotsfan provided isn't using manufacturer's megabytes. If it is, then you'd only be able to have two ~1tb partitions. Note that a drive sold as having 2tb on it would be measured that way, so you'd only have about 1.8tb of "real" space (two ~925gb partitions).

#7 bearcreek

bearcreek

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 410 posts

Posted 12 January 2011 - 10:17 PM

So you are saying it may be possible to do 3 roughly 733 gb partitions? The XBMC version that supports multiple partitions, is it availible?

#8 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 January 2011 - 12:12 AM

Yeah, google around for "XBMC4Xbox".

#9 rashid420

rashid420

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 01 February 2011 - 01:19 AM

QUOTE(reliantkcar @ Dec 31 2010, 07:48 PM) View Post

ok so I saw a 3tb harddrive here

http://www.microcent...duct_id=0347995

http://www.microcent...duct_id=0350724

I already filled my 2tb and now I want to upgrade

is this possible I have done 20,40,60,80,120,160,320,500,1tb sata and 2tb sata

any input would be apreciated I can buy the drive tomorow if it is possible to do this. I have about every version xbox and good ide cables and sata adapters also

oops can you move this to original xbox secetion


Stupid Question Number One. You are connecting External USB Drive to XBox1 how? Mini USB cable? And with USB 1.1 it gives you good performance on playback???


#10 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 01 February 2011 - 01:50 AM

QUOTE(rashid420 @ Jan 31 2011, 06:19 PM) View Post

Stupid Question Number One. You are connecting External USB Drive to XBox1 how? Mini USB cable? And with USB 1.1 it gives you good performance on playback???

you cant use a USB drive over 4gb with xbox1, the USB drivers wont read anything over that


personally i use USB 2.0 external drives connected to my PC, then use samba (windows shared folders) to stream over the network

#11 supmax

supmax

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Interests:XBOX 1.4ghz CPU 128 RAM 2 TB HDD
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 February 2011 - 11:45 PM

Would be great if some one figured out a way to do this. Currently the 2 TB is formatted with 64k clusters. 3TB would require 128, which means if 3TB is possible larger drives would be possible also ( what ever size 128k allows).

#12 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 February 2011 - 01:19 AM

A 1tb partition requires 64kb clusters. 2tb would require 128kb, and to make a partition larger then that you'd need 256kb.

Since 64kb is the largest we can do, we currently use multiple 1tb partitions. There's nothing stopping us from having more then two extended partitions, it's just that no BIOS is likely to recognise all the space on a 3tb drive.

#13 dballs442

dballs442

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:Durango, CO
  • Interests:Sustainability, Playing music, Mountain Biking, Snowboard, Games, Micro Beer, Camping, River Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:53 AM

can you elaborate on why? is it technically possible for someone to write a bios to support "true LBA48" as you stated above? is this a hardware limitation or strictly a software/firmware issue?

#14 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:55 AM

There's no reason I can see as to why the BIOS code "couldn't" be tweaked. However, AFAIK there hasn't been an update to the range of available BIOS types in years; I doubt anyone will look into this.

#15 jaygriggs

jaygriggs

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts
  • Location:Detroit Michigan United States
  • Interests:ummm xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 February 2011 - 05:34 AM

Ashame really
My Original xbox still holds up after all these years my kids love them (one in every room)
If someone did update the bios it would show that the box still has life
And to think the xbox would have one up on windows xp then
But imagine if 3 yrs from now we're talking about who put in a 5tb drive laugh.gif

I'd do it too laugh.gif






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users