Jump to content


Photo

Upgrade Bios To Lba48


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 bigbunnyrum

bigbunnyrum

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 03:21 PM

Hello all and thank you for reading. I am very new to all this but have found a new hobby.

I bought a softmodded XBox (with dead HDD) which i just finished building a eeprom reader for and getting my keys. I then created a new harddrive.

My problem is the xbox only sees 137gigs of the 500. I have looked at the bios in XBtool (Which i got from the backup folder) and the bios i have says its "X2 4076.02 (1.00.4976.02)"

I am curious, do i just load my old bios into XBtools, check the LBA48 box and resave it. Then reflash it with evox? If so is it resaved as 256k or 1024?

Or am i completely off base.

Thank you all in advance for your support.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2011 - 03:39 PM

If it's softmodded then it isn't using that BIOS - it's the softmod that has to support LBA48. Which softmod did you use?

#3 bigbunnyrum

bigbunnyrum

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:04 PM

I just created the hdd from a working xbox's files with xboxhdm.
The "softmod" i suppose was already in place since both boxes were the same.









#4 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:11 PM

That doesn't help at all. Which softmod was used on the Xbox you copied the files from?

Edited by Heimdall, 11 January 2011 - 04:12 PM.


#5 bigbunnyrum

bigbunnyrum

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:22 PM

How could I determine this Heimdall?




#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:27 PM

Easiest way: by remembering how you did the first softmod......

#7 bigbunnyrum

bigbunnyrum

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:39 PM

My apologies. I purchased them and never did any modding myself in the first place.

1 worked fine.
1 hard drive was cooked.

Son plays games on working one.
I played for fun with broken one.

Built eeprom reader.
Got eeprom.
Copied files from working box's C & E.
Xboxhdm onto new hard drive with eeprom.
Booted box.
Reads 129 gigs on 500gig drive.

I am not sure how to answer your question but I am trying.


#8 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:43 PM

OK.

Which dashboard are you using?

Which folders do you have on the C partition?

Which files do you have in the root of the C partition?

Do you have either of the folders E:\Apps\Extras\ or E:\ndts\?

#9 bigbunnyrum

bigbunnyrum

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:51 PM

Dashboard it boots into is Evolution X.

C Folders below:

Audio
Backup
Bios
Fonts
Skin
xboxdashdata.1012a700
xodash

C Files Below:

Config.xml
evox.ini
evox.ini_working
evoxdash.xbe
Filezilla Server.xml
items.txt
settings_adoc.xip
WS_FTP.log
xbox Book.xtf
xbox.xtf
xboxdash.xbe


As for the folders on the E drive, none of the ones you have listed exist.












#10 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2011 - 05:05 PM

That's an old softmod with none of the features you'd expect in a new one - like shadow C, virtual eeprom, etc.

Grab a copy of HeXEn 0.99B11-22 or CASH v1.1, and use that to upgrade your softmod to Krayzie 1.1.1.

#11 Overloaded

Overloaded

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Location:eastern shore, md. USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 January 2011 - 03:02 PM

maybe its not a softmod at all. its possibly a tsop flash. the original softmod files would had been lost when the original hdd died.

he says he built the hdd so where did the dash files come from?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users