7 replies to this topic

#1 sirtumtum

sirtumtum

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts

Posted 14 January 2011 - 01:47 PM

hey guys, im new to ps3, never owned one, was thinking of getting one now coz it looks like the home brew scene is beginning to take off a bit.

just wondering if i should get one now before any major hardware changes are made to them, i have been reading articles recently that sony cant fix the security exploit in them unless they update the hardware, is this going to affect the home brew stuff?

also i have no idea where to start, i have had a quick read on these threads, do i need a usb stick and load some custom firmware onto that for home brew ?

any help and clarification would be greatly appreciated

#2 ChicagoUno6900

ChicagoUno6900

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 16 January 2011 - 05:17 AM

Id get one before sony makes the hw changes.

Get a flash drive and external hd and your good.

#3 sirtumtum

sirtumtum

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts

Posted 16 January 2011 - 01:59 PM

QUOTE(ChicagoUno6900 @ Jan 16 2011, 02:17 PM) View Post

Id get one before sony makes the hw changes.

Get a flash drive and external hd and your good.

yeah ok, so i have been looking around, and the geohots custom firmware is installable via any usb stick, this lets you jailbreak the ps3?

and then i can run custom hombrew aps like emulators and such ?

thats what i figure from all the crap i have been through for the last day. but yeah ill prob end up getting one coz it looks like sony will make a hardware change soon to stop this like they did with the other OS update.

cheers for the help also

#4 STICKY_BUD

STICKY_BUD

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 953 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 January 2011 - 08:19 PM