Jump to content


Photo

Error 13 Issue


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 x_caliber

x_caliber

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 03:23 AM

So I recently was attempting to update my xbmc via ftp and now I get a 13 error on reboot. I was instructed to replace the files in my C folder with the new files and reboot. Before doing so I backed up all these files to my laptop for safe keeping, but when I restarted after copying the new files over I got the 13 error. I have tried burning a Slayer Evox 2.7 disc to try and get the ability to ftp back in and copy the old files back over but I have had no luck. I am assuming I really screwed the pooch on this one. My xbox in question is softmodded and has the original Xbox hard drive. I do not own a pc any more. I only have my macbook pro. I have heard of hot swapping but is there a way for me to do it with my laptop? I am assuming no...also if there is anyway at all for me to be able to ftp into my xbox i believe i can fix the problem since i backed everything up...so if anyone has any ideas as far as that it would be greatly appreciated.

#2 spliff721

spliff721

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:seattle, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 February 2011 - 06:10 AM

when you say you have had no luck with slayers what do you mean? does the disk not boot? do original games boot? if original games boot, you can try putting an xbox live capable game in and updating the dash. somethin post halo 2. or get yourself a copy of HeXEn, and try that, it has options to fully rebuild your softmod. to find it google HeXEn (heimdall's xbox engineering disc). i suggest the 2nd link.

#3 x_caliber

x_caliber

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 06:29 AM

yea it doesnt boot it just goes straight to the error screen. unfortunately i dont have any original xbox games at the moment since ive moved a couple times in the past few years. i will def try the hexen option. heres hoping. i'll post back and let you know either way. much appreciated!

cheers

#4 x_caliber

x_caliber

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 07:58 AM

this one didnt boot either. did the cold boot where i put the disc in the tray and turn the xbox off then back on again and it just went to the error screen. is there a special way i have to burn the hexen disc? i burned it using toast as a ISO9660 to a cd. It wouldnt let me burn it as a dvd it gives me an error saying "CD-ROM XA or audio tracks cant be written to DVD". I know some people said you should use cdrw's or dvd's. Is this the case? All I have at the moment are DVD+R's and CD-R's...

#5 spliff721

spliff721

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:seattle, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 February 2011 - 08:15 AM

DVD-R is what you need, my boxes wont boot anything else.

#6 x_caliber

x_caliber

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 08:34 AM

any suggestions on what i might use on my mac to burn it with? because when i try to use toast it says i cant write CD XA files to DVDs...

#7 spliff721

spliff721

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:seattle, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 February 2011 - 08:41 AM

I like magicISO maker or imgburn. MagicISO has an option for XBOX DVD filesystem. But standard ISO 9660 should work also.

#8 fallenangle

fallenangle

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 09:04 PM

A VERY important thing to remember here is not to disconnect the Xbox from the mains. If you're getting Error 13 now once it's disconnected and the power drained next time it will boot to Error 16. You do not want that.

I don't know what installer you used originally but I don't think you should have been instructed to replace anything from the C:\drive with a softmodded machine if you were just updating XBMC.





#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 February 2011 - 02:47 AM

It's 99.99% certain that your Xbox is no longer softmodded, and hence no homebrew DVD will work, and there's no way to get FTP access.

You need to start again with a post 2004 live-enabled game to restore your MS Dash, then with an exploitable game and Krayzie 1.1.1 gamesave softmod on a memory card. Alternatively you need to find a PC to use for hotswapping, and use xboxhdm and Kingroach NDURE 3.1 to rebuild your hard drive.

#10 x_caliber

x_caliber

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 February 2011 - 04:05 AM

ok just saw both of these. last night i swapped the non-functioning xbox in my room with my other one thus unplugging the power. is it still a matter of having to reset it back to standard and the re-soft modding it? or is it totally bricked now?

#11 spliff721

spliff721

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:seattle, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 February 2011 - 04:09 AM

are you getting an error 16 now?


#12 fallenangle

fallenangle

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 14 February 2011 - 01:43 PM

QUOTE(x_caliber @ Feb 14 2011, 03:05 AM) View Post

ok just saw both of these. last night i swapped the non-functioning xbox in my room with my other one thus unplugging the power. is it still a matter of having to reset it back to standard and the re-soft modding it? or is it totally bricked now?



Even if you get Error 16 it won't mean it's totally bricked, there are ways of recovering it but does makes things much more complicated.

But you may be lucky and not get Error 16. I've had Xboxes that have been powered on for 2-3 hrs from cold ie. previoiusly unplugged, maintain power overnight and long into the next day, I'm guessing 10 -12 hrs. I suspect it depends on the age/condition of the capacitor concerned.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users