9 replies to this topic

#1 InspectorMustache

InspectorMustache

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 February 2011 - 10:30 PM

Hey everyone!

I'm sorry, I've searched the forums and all that and I even found some threads about this but somehow I still don't get it.

I want to install a 80mm 12V case fan in my XBox. Now, the specs say this fan has a 4pin wire and if I remember correctly there's a 3pin connector inside the XBox. So can I get this fan to work anyhow? If so, how? Do I need an adapter? What kind? One that looks like this? How does that work? Do I need to connect it to the HD/HD power cable? If so, do I need to get a Y cable?

Also, will I still be able to change the fan speed via the dashboard (or the bios) with this?

Alright, hope someone can clear things up for me.

Thanks in advance!!

#2 obcd

obcd

X-S Hacker

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2011 - 12:40 AM

I have no experience with a 4 wire fan. in case of a 3 wire fan, you have power, gnd and speed pulses. The power is turned off rapidly to reduce the fan speed (in case of the original fan connector)
I don't think there is a speed pulse detection to actual measure the fan speed in the xbox.

The xbox disconnects the gnd rapidly to reduce the fan speed. To use the speed pulses, you need to disconnect the power site.

A 4 wire fan needs PWM pulses to run. Don't use such in your xbox. 3 wire shouldn't be a problem, just don't connect the speed pulses wire.

If you power the fan from the harddisk supply connector, it will always run at full speed. This can be a noisy situation.

The adapter will also only work with 2 and 3 wire fan's. They will also always run at full speed.

regards.

Edited by obcd, 22 February 2011 - 12:42 AM.

#3 GSCOMPS

GSCOMPS

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 February 2011 - 02:33 AM