Jump to content


Photo

Hexen - Heimdall's Xbox Engineering Disc.


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#16 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 July 2011 - 08:00 PM

Well readig the post he seems to say if you extract the contents opf the dvd to E:\foldername
(the folder name cant be hexen)
Then on your pc open config.xml with an edit program, and do a search replace.
Search for : D:\
replace with E:\Foldername\

it should work like an app

I.e

You make the folder HexInst on E:\
"e:\hexinst"
Then extract all the contents of the hexen disk to
"e:\hexinst"
then edit
"E:\hexinst\config.xml"
With the search replace function of notepad or similar
and replace D:\ with E:\hexinst\
and then run hexen from E:\hexinst\
That should work..


Im just summerizing from the info given in the post you quoted. So you may want to wait for heimdall. But that is my understanding of what the post says.

Edited by shambles1980, 15 July 2011 - 08:04 PM.


#17 Jimz360

Jimz360

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:London England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 16 July 2011 - 01:42 PM

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Jul 15 2011, 08:00 PM) View Post

Well readig the post he seems to say if you extract the contents opf the dvd to E:\foldername
(the folder name cant be hexen)
Then on your pc open config.xml with an edit program, and do a search replace.
Search for : D:\
replace with E:\Foldername\

it should work like an app

I.e

You make the folder HexInst on E:\
"e:\hexinst"
Then extract all the contents of the hexen disk to
"e:\hexinst"
then edit
"E:\hexinst\config.xml"
With the search replace function of notepad or similar
and replace D:\ with E:\hexinst\
and then run hexen from E:\hexinst\
That should work..
Im just summerizing from the info given in the post you quoted. So you may want to wait for heimdall. But that is my understanding of what the post says.


Yeah i tried not long after my post, just replaced "D:\" with "E:\hex\" it works perfectly, flashed my Winbond chip, threw in my 400gb HD, now just need to ftp my stuff over. Cheers shambles1980 and cheers heimdall, the app works great, just need a CD re-writer so i can burn it to disc for emergency's

#18 HeeZy

HeeZy

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 November 2011 - 11:46 PM

i have a TSOP flashed xbox and i no longer have a DVD Drive. can i still upgrade my hard drive with this?

#19 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 November 2011 - 11:58 PM

Obviously you can't do that!

It runs from a DVD, or (as described in the posts above) you can copy it to the hard drive to do things like reflash the TSOP etc. If you are upgrading the drive then there isn't a hard drive to run it from.......

#20 HeeZy

HeeZy

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 November 2011 - 02:03 AM

so what are my options if i want to upgrade my hdd with no dvd drive? i read that hot swapping in evox will do the trick. are there any other methods?

#21 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:14 AM

The problem is that once you hotswap there isn't anything on the Xbox to format the new disk.

Chimp should work.

Alternatively you could try running UnleashX with a config that included the menu item:

<Item Action="PrepareHD">Prepare New HD</Item>

Load UnleashX, then hotswap, then select "Prepare New HD from the menu.

That will format the new disk with a basic format, and should install a dash as well, and once that's done you can use FTP to copy XBPartitioner 1.1 to properly format the F/G partitions, and also copy any other files you want.

#22 ZippoYaris

ZippoYaris

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 November 2011 - 07:53 AM

How big is the ISO HeXEn? I am not sure if I unzipped it correctly. I use 7-Zip and the iso I got was 486MB. Is this correct?

#23 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 November 2011 - 03:14 PM

I can't check at the moment, but that's about right. If it unzipped without errors then it should be fine.

#24 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 November 2011 - 05:48 PM

my HeXen iso is 486MB too.

#25 zman519

zman519

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:The shity state of wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 December 2011 - 05:23 AM

I have looked around the net for a few days looking for the latest iso & cant seem to find it.

Could someone post/PM me a link

#26 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:40 PM

Google "Heimdall's Xbox Engineering Disc", with or without the quotes.

#27 zman519

zman519

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:The shity state of wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 01 January 2012 - 01:20 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Dec 31 2011, 08:40 AM) View Post

Google "Heimdall's Xbox Engineering Disc", with or without the quotes.



But i cant find 0.99B11-22

i found 21 yesterday

#28 huan

huan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 12:32 AM

Heimdall, I'm trying to format a sata 2tb drive for a softmodded 1.6 xbox with this disc.
I read all the instructions on the disc and followed them exactly, but my screen freezes during the preparation stage. Right after the message that says what to choose after preparation is complete, a gray unleashx logo appears, but no other status updates come up.

Any idea why this might occur? This is the same xbox I was trying to upgrade using xboxhdm.

#29 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 12:45 AM

So you aren't getting as far as the locking menu?

#30 huan

huan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 01:11 AM

That's right.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users