• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JBones415

JBones415

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 May 2011 - 03:36 PM

I apologize in advance for what may seem a total newbie issue but please bare with me. Had a company a few years ago mod my Xbox, chipped, 250gb hard drive installed and broken down into 4 partitions and is running off a old ( probably very old ) version of XBMC, I would assume at least 2-3 years ago. Boots directly into XBMC on start up..Currently hooked up and can access it via FTP.

I need to know where to / how to, install the new version.. Anyone have any advise or aware of any available tutorials on this? I greatly appreciate any help on this, been a video game collector for longer than I would like to admit but there is something special about Xbox1, truly the first Mod that made me go speechless..

JB

#2 oldtimer82

oldtimer82

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 11 posts
  • Interests:- Networking<br />- Rigging Stuff<br />- Computer Repair<br />- Sciences<br />- Star Trek<br />- Gaming<br />- Anime
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 24 May 2011 - 03:46 PM

PM me and I'll walk you though over chat or something.

It is fairly easy, depending upon where they placed the xbmc files.

All you pretty much need to do is reboot the Xbox, FTP into it.

Look for the directory that has default.xbe in it and copy the new version over this directory.

If you are concerned with losing personal data, i'd make a backup of the "userdata" folder before hand.

Let me know if this works out!

#3 Heimdall

Heimdall

X-S Legend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 May 2011 - 04:27 PM

QUOTE(oldtimer82 @ May 24 2011, 03:46 PM) View Post
Look for the directory that has default.xbe in it and copy the new version over this directory.

Not good advice, for two reasons: