Jump to content


Photo

E66 Error Xbox Question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 03:33 PM

Ok so i got my E66 error xbox today. the one that the guy said had never been opend.. Well either MS now put them together with big dents in the back looking like a screw driver opend the case, and stick a security seal on with what looks like chewing gum, then thats a load of bull..

any way that isnt bothering me.
I bought it under the assumption i was going to have to change or flash the dvd any way.
The dvd plays games fine so the key is good "That was a relief"
but its a toshiba-samsung drive..
I only ever worked on lite-ons So what do i need to know about these tooshibas..
Can i just make a probe with the power cord and a pin or do i make one with a db9 socket like i have for the older lite ons?

Im assuming i have to get it in to vendor mode like the lite-ons but cant say i know for sure.
the only tutorials i find are from 2006 so i dont really care to read them as i know some dash updates locked drives so they may be obsoleet by now.

Edited by shambles1980, 13 October 2011 - 03:35 PM.


#2 BoNg420

BoNg420

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,809 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 04:22 PM

It might be flashed already and it might be a MS25 flashed with firmware as a MS28, so it would give you that e66.

I would read it, you dont need a probe or anything for samsung. Go to jungleflasher.net and they have a good tutorial on how to use the program and for each drive.

Also if the system was made in 2005-2006 it should have a samsung or hitachi 46-59, if its made in 2007 it will most likely be a hitachi 78/79 and later in 2007 they put in benqs, in 2008 they put in benqs and liteons came out in later 2008 and late 2008 and on were liteons So it could also possibly give you that error if you have the wrong drive in there.

Edited by BoNg420, 13 October 2011 - 04:23 PM.


#3 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 05:14 PM

its a late july 06 moddel No hdmi I think its probably a xenon (i was never any good at remembering whcih power connector meant what..)
but this one has the little square in the middle and a flat bar on the top..
. _______
/------------\
|...------....|
| O...O...O .|
|......[] ......|
| O...O...O .|
-------------
Kind of like that.. (i know it sux)

Edited by shambles1980, 13 October 2011 - 05:17 PM.


#4 BoNg420

BoNg420

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,809 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 06:22 PM

is it a MS25 or MS28 samsung, also you could of had a hitachi in it as well and someone just replaced the drive. You should read the firmware off the drive and see if it says its spoofed at all.

#5 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 06:52 PM

MS28

just opend it up now..
took the bottom off to undo the case screws... No case screws to take off..
thought id better do a xclamp fix... No xclamp..
Some prety substantial looking bolts there now though, And its a better heat sink than should be on a xennon.. Its left me some what confuzed.
uhh.gif

should i be angry or happy

Edited by shambles1980, 13 October 2011 - 06:59 PM.


#6 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2011 - 10:52 PM

i think i prefer lite-on devices lol...

QUOTE(JF log)

This is a 32 bit process running on a 32 bit CPU
portio32.sys Driver Installed
portio32.sys Driver Started, thanks Schtrom !
Found 12 I/O Ports.
Found 1 Com Ports.
Found 8 windows drives C: D: E: F: V: W: Y: Z:
Found 1 CD/DVD drives D:
Key NOT in KeyDB
Key is: F3D8ABE3DC176AB37ADF1139B9ABD47A
Key has been tested and verified, thanks C4eva !
Drive is Samsung..
Getting Status from port 0xC400
Invalid Status 0x50
Sending Sammy_Un_Lock to Drive on port 0xC400
Stage 1, Complete!
Stage 2, Complete!
Stage 3, Complete!
Done!
Sending Vendor Intro
Vendor Intro Failed
Sending Vendor Intro to port 0xC400
Status 0xD1
Re-sending Vendor Intro:
......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Device Intro failed!
Sending Vendor Intro to port 0xC400
Status 0xD1
Re-sending Vendor Intro:
.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Device Intro failed!


ive tried it with using unlock command without the unlock command. power cycle the dvd (maybe im a bit slow but i think im pretty fast)
this is an on board via based SATA "non raid" connection that worked with lite-on.
kind of frustrating, But it does seem to be using some firmware thats not standard or the unlock-sammy should work right?

i will try the half open dvd tray next i guess..
and i dont know what this 0800 dvd is (or whatever it said)

trieed everything to get the thing in to vendor mode exept the 0800 DVD.
orderd 10 ritek DVD+R DL's and il find out when they get here,
Throwing this thing back together for now.

atleast it has a xclamp replacment kit and upgraded gpu heatsink and hasnt RROD'S on me whilst i bveen doing this..

Edited by shambles1980, 13 October 2011 - 11:25 PM.


#7 hangover

hangover

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 October 2011 - 02:01 PM

I wouldnt be so happy about the so called x-clamp fix as it means it will fail again, try getting vendor mode again it took me a few goes powering on/off before i got it working first time.

#8 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 October 2011 - 03:36 PM

with this power cycle thing do i hit yes then turn it off as fast as i can or do i have some time to spare?
Its a pain that i dont know which firmware is on it right now. because JF tells me how to unlock it depending on what firmware..

The xbox seems to go in to vendor mode "flashing light on the xbox" (im using it for power) but JF fails the vendor thing.
I tried some other versions of jf and 0.1.75 made it make a noise when i tried to get in to vendor mode (like it was trying to read)

the lite-ons were so much easier probing them. wish i could probe this thing in to vendormode.

Edited by shambles1980, 14 October 2011 - 03:49 PM.


#9 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 October 2011 - 09:05 PM

just going to wait till i get these dl dvd+r's see how that goes.
this power cycle thing aint working for me to well either and i found the probe point for the samsung but that isnt working for me either lol.
So i also orderd a pci SATA card just in case its that.
and i suppose i should get one of those lil popwery doo das so i dont have to use the 360 for power.



#10 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 October 2011 - 01:29 PM

-=EDIT=-
need to know what the latest firmware is now. i dont want to flash to 1.9+ and then find out i need a diferent one.
Any help greatly apretiated.
is it
"iXtreme LT+ v2.0 Firmware Pack for Fat & Slim"
-=original post=-
ok so i got it done in the end with my sata onboard (so now i have a pci sata card on the way i have no use for lol)
any way it was flashed with i-xtreem 1.4 or similar.
i did not need the 0800 dvd (wasted a dl dvd+r)
I had to use a ck3 liteinstead and even then i had to power off then onn quickly about 4-5 times when it was searching for vendor mode. so i can only say "these drives are incredibly fussy about the timing!"
The lite-ons never gave me this much trouble going in to vendor mode lol..
Any way off to update the dash excetera then il reflash it with a more updated firmware.

p.s
its much easier once you have it back to stock firmware you just hit sammy unlock and it works.

Edited by shambles1980, 18 October 2011 - 01:49 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users