Jump to content


Photo

Trying To Rebuild Xbxhd With Softmod


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 08:02 PM

hi, recently i got an error 21 on my softmoded box, now i managed to run slayers evox installer but i found out that its only for mod chipped box, is there any sofmod installer ? whenever i run a game it boots, even homebrew ... but no dash ... still error 21

btw i have my bios and everything, i know that the only way is to completely rebuild the hdd but i have a laptop, no ide conections here ...


#2 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 08:05 PM

if you can boot slayers then you should be able to boot hexen "heimdalls xbox engineering disk" burn it to dvd-r at slowest speed possible "4x or less"

use that its awesome..


#3 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 08:35 PM

thnx.... d'ing now... will report later

#4 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 09:06 PM

i fucked it up... rebooted it while formatting ....

#5 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 09:14 PM

formatting??

im confuzed have you tsoped or something??

Do you mean formatting or do you mean that you rebooted when it was deleiting your previous sodtmod?

if it was deleting your previous soft mod it could still be possible to run hexen from a cold boot.
if your tsoped then its still possible to boot from hexen..

if your totaly stuck with out the ability to boot from hexen then you may need to hotswap or use a eeprom reader.

#6 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 09:51 PM

it was rebooted while formatting hd, cant cold boot.... still i have eeprom, i will rebuild it but ... right now cant since i dont have a desktop :/

#7 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 10:00 PM

How was your Xbox modded? If it was softmodded, why were you formatting the disk, and which HeXEn option were you using?

#8 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 10:18 PM

full rebuild hexen... softmoded with ... ndure or something like that but that was back in 2005 or 6 dont remember long time ago ....

there was an option "you have F partition would you like to format " if yes press both triggers .. (but i pressed start also) that rebooted the machine and kapuuffff error 13

not even retail disc boots :/

#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 10:28 PM

There's no such option in HeXEn, although you can get to a similar screen via option 2.4.3a or 2.4.3b. Which of these menu options did you select?

If retail games won't boot then that may be part of your problem - if your DVD drive can't read games then it can't read data from homebrew DVDs, like HeXEn. smile.gif

Remember to keep your Xbox plugged in or your Error 13 will become Error 16.

Edited by Heimdall, 16 October 2011 - 10:35 PM.


#10 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 10:43 PM

*2.4.3a. Build the new disk (NTSC)
i think. what happens in error 16 ?


damn... i already unplugged the xbx and remobed hdd :/

#11 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 11:01 PM

Not a problem - just don't leave it unplugged from the mains for too long.

#12 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2011 - 11:14 PM

too late. error 16 ...

just a question.... rebuilding hdd will solve it right ?


probably within a week or so i will have time to take my hdd to a buddy's house so i can rebuild it :/

#13 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2011 - 11:40 PM

Yes, rebuilding the HDD will fix Error 16.

If you don't have the eeprom then you'll need to take the Xbox, not just the hard drive, and you'll have to hotswap to unlock the disk.

Edited by Heimdall, 16 October 2011 - 11:52 PM.


#14 kics

kics

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Location:borderland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 October 2011 - 03:12 AM

thnx will do it, and yes i do have the eeprom backed it up a long time ago for an emergency and that time has come ....

#15 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 October 2011 - 03:32 AM

oh then its easy..
just use xboxhdm to unlock and then rebuild your hard drive.
have a look in heimdalls signature for a tutorial




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users