X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Interests:Xbox and Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 November 2011 - 03:34 AM

Just got a 1.0 motherboard for my Matrix chip, and as the title says I'm having trouble keeping it on. I know it's not the PSU because I'm using one from my other Xbox that has never had any problems, and using the replacement power cable that was issued my M$.

At first I thought maybe the bios (Evox 2.5) had a shutdown when idle feature, but I just started playing a video in XBMC and it turned off right in the middle of it. Not only that, every time it turns off by itself, if I immediately turn it back on it'll turn back off right when the dash loads. This leads me to doubt it's a bios related problem, and I don't think I'll try flashing a different bios in case it shuts down during the flash.

The temperature seems fine, with the CPU staying around 34 - 36 degrees, and the GPU never going above 40 degrees (celsius).

A few of the capacitors got bent during shipping, but I don't see how that would cause this problem, and I've had an Xbox where one of the capacitors looked like it exploded (lol) and it still ran fine.

Another weird thing about this console is the power button does absolutely nothing... it powers on with eject, and has to be unplugged or turned off via dashboard.

Sorry for the lengthy post, I'd really appreciate it if someone could help me figure out what's wrong here though uhh.gif

#2 Movax

Movax

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 November 2011 - 04:41 AM

Take out the motherboard and check for corrosion or like a chemical film on the board, it should be obvious once you look, if that is the problem.

And/or look for this kind of problem: IPB Image

Edited by Movax, 25 November 2011 - 04:43 AM.

#3 jaroc

jaroc

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts