Photo

How To Encode Videos For Proper Subtitle Support Playpack On 360?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Randolph

Randolph

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 08:33 PM

Hi,

a bit of a preamble:
I've been using my XBOX 360 for a few months mainly for playing videos. My desktop PC is Windows 7 Pro 64bit and at first I tried using Windows Media Center and then playback on the XBOX. I installed Shark007 video codec ( http://shark007.net/win7codecs.html ) so there was no need to pre-transcode the videos (which mainly consisted of MKVs) because it was done on the fly. No problem for me i7-980X EE.

However, the service just didn't work 100%; sometimes loading the Dashboard with all the videos hung; sometimes playing back of videos itself hung and sometimes playback didn't work at all.

I then learned about another technique, which worked without the Windows Media Center by just providing all videos from my users "Video Library" (I'm on a German system and thus don't know how the proper term in English is); I only had to ensure the videos where properly encoded.

Since I was familiar with ffmpeg from Linux, I used a Windows precompiled binary to do the work, which looks like this:

CODE
ffmpeg.exe -i input.mkv -vcodec wmv2 -acodec wmav2 -ac 2 -sameq output.wmv

As long as ffmpeg was able to convert the video, I never had any playback issues (except that it sometimes took "ages" that a video from the Library showed up on the XBOX, but that's another topic).

I realize that this is not optimal, that the wmv2 codec produces larger files then the typical h264, but for me it gets the work done well.

When I use this method to playback the videos, subtitles are never included. In fact, when I read the output of ffmpeg and understand this right, they are just ignored (thrown away) during the conversion process.

I.e.: I am not able to produce a WMV with subtitles included.