Jump to content


Photo

Little Help About Partitions ...


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 quilzo

quilzo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:23 PM

sorry to probably reopen a very replied question , but i cannot find clarify solutions .

i softmodded with ndure 3.1 through XboxHdm my xbox ( 1.4 version ) with the stock harddisk ( i think 10 GB one )

now i would like to remove all unused thing or re-softmod in order to have as many disk space as possible . I read many thread etc... but really not find a way to proceed .

i tried Xbpartitioner and i see these partitions :

Standards

1 . size 4882 ( should be E , right ? )
2 . size 500 ( should be C , right ? )
3 . size 750 ( Z ? )
4 . size 750 ( X ? )
5 . size 750 ( Y ? )

Extended

6. size 2.09

i retrieve all standard partition in File Manager ( Except for C cause in file manager is only 335 MB , not 500 ) , but not clue where is that 2.09 partition ...

other question , virtual C is enabled , how can i verify that ?

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:28 PM

Your partitions are normal. You could use UnleashX or XBPartitioner to format the 2GB as an F partition.

You have a shadow C - Kingroach NDURE 3.1 always installs it. Run NTDS (E:\ndts\default.xbe) to bypass shadow C so you can see the contents of the real C partition.

Oh, and you should have posted this in the newbie section - it has nothing to do with XBE exploits.

Edited by Heimdall, 28 January 2012 - 09:29 PM.


#3 quilzo

quilzo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:37 PM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Jan 28 2012, 09:28 PM) View Post

Your partitions are normal. You could use UnleashX or XBPartitioner to format the 2GB as an F partition.

You have a shadow C - Kingroach NDURE 3.1 always installs it. Run NTDS (E:\ndts\default.xbe) to bypass shadow C so you can see the contents of the real C partition.

Oh, and you should have posted this in the newbie section - it has nothing to do with XBE exploits.


thanks for quick reply , and sorry to post in wrong section .

i already tri xbpartitioner but don't work ( or i am not able to understand how to do ) .

i succesfully format F with unleashX format menu . Now i have 2 GB free there in F .

as u reply i have another very noob question , cause i downloaded and burned HeXeN disc , but i cannot run it , drive say it's empty ... There's a particular way to boot it or simply i downloaded a bad iso ?

thanks for ur help smile.gif

Edited by quilzo, 28 January 2012 - 09:39 PM.


#4 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:56 PM

burn to dvd-r at 4x speed or slowet

#5 quilzo

quilzo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 10:26 PM

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Jan 28 2012, 09:56 PM) View Post

burn to dvd-r at 4x speed or slowet


ok , done and it runs ok , many thanks to u .

now my question is ... how i proceed ? i would like ( if possible ) :

- remove shadow c permanently
- install and launch only 1 dashboard from C
- use E and F only for games and videos
- install XMBC in C application ( already installed in E/apps at this moment )

can i do these things ?

#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 10:31 PM

You really don't want to do that.

- You don't want to remove shadow C. It protects your softmod.
- NDURE softmods don't boot the dash from C, they boot from E, and you have no say in that unless you want to write your own softmod.
- You need other things in E:\ (UDATA and TDATA and Cache, for example)
- XBMC is in the right place - you could put it on the shadow C, but there's not much space there.

If you want more space for games, install a larger hard drive.

And you don't have to quote the preceding post when you reply......

Edited by Heimdall, 28 January 2012 - 10:32 PM.


#7 quilzo

quilzo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 January 2012 - 11:29 PM

ok , so it's fine , thanks for ur reply . I will lok for a larger hdd and replace it




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users