Jump to content


Photo

Mod Chip Which Bios To Flash


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 31 January 2012 - 08:05 PM

got my xbox chipped in 2003 with a cheapo mod chip dont know what name
my xbox ver 1.1
deteced bios Evox D6 Eject fix
which bios i can update it to i have got AID 4.53 dvd can i do with it or what do i need
n64 rom are stucking at times
also how can make the output to my hd tv 1080i
im using component cable
thanks

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 31 January 2012 - 08:19 PM

Use Evox to flash a new BIOS to your modchip. Pick a 256k BIOS so you can be sure it will fit on your unknown modchip - I'd recommend iND-BIOS.5003 or Evox M8+ (but make sure you pick the 1.0-1.5 version, not the 1.6 version).

Alternatively, use HeXEn (Google Heimdall's Xbox Engineering Disc) - it will flash the BIOS and set up the disk drive for you.

I'm sure AID will do it too, but I can't talk you through that - it's a while since I used AID.

When you're flashing, make a note of the detail on the screen - it will tell you which flash chip you have, so you'll be able to work out the size of the chip.

#3 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 31 January 2012 - 09:34 PM

if his xbox was chipped and using D6 bios then isnt he on a 1.6 box?
i know he says 1.1 but i thought d6 was for 1.6's

#4 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 31 January 2012 - 10:55 PM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Jan 31 2012, 09:19 PM) View Post

Use Evox to flash a new BIOS to your modchip. Pick a 256k BIOS so you can be sure it will fit on your unknown modchip - I'd recommend iND-BIOS.5003 or Evox M8+ (but make sure you pick the 1.0-1.5 version, not the 1.6 version).

Alternatively, use HeXEn (Google Heimdall's Xbox Engineering Disc) - it will flash the BIOS and set up the disk drive for you.

I'm sure AID will do it too, but I can't talk you through that - it's a while since I used AID.

When you're flashing, make a note of the detail on the screen - it will tell you which flash chip you have, so you'll be able to work out the size of the chip.

cant run the evox dash the box keep rebooting in a cycle after the microsoft logo shows with a screen flicker

info from xbox bios checker5.0
chip type -->modchip (or unknown homebrew)
using genuine bios --> Evox D6 EjectFix
Bios MD5 Hash-->then 32 digits comprising letters and numbers

then avalaunch dash
it says mod chip lookup is disabled
screen resolution 720x576 Pal 16.9 50hz
operating system (kernal) 1.0.4817.1

these are the info now is it right to do as you said in the above post

Edited by boxer29, 31 January 2012 - 11:00 PM.


#5 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 February 2012 - 12:13 AM

D6 is a really old BIOS, and from memory only works on 1.0 and 1.1 Xboxes.

#6 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 04:16 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Feb 1 2012, 01:13 AM) View Post

D6 is a really old BIOS, and from memory only works on 1.0 and 1.1 Xboxes.

yes my xbox is ver 1.1 made in 2002
so its old
got the configmagic to back the eeprom

check the mod chip size is 256 mb
so what bios to add
will the D6 bios making problem for the evox dash
im installing it from AID onto c drive
installs ok ,but doesnt work
had to delete it and put unleash
tried msdash ,avalaunc and xbmc work fine
instaled xbmc onto it
wasted one hour trying to update the script and addons for xbmc
iplayer doesnt work
you tube doesnt work either
any comments
thanks

Edited by boxer29, 01 February 2012 - 04:20 AM.


#7 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:57 AM

You need to do one of two things:

- find an Xbox DVD drive that works, and boot HeXEn
- put PBL-metoo on your Xbox (metoo-m8plus-v1.4.1.zip), and make sure you have a bootable dash (preferably UnleashX) at C:\evoxdash.xbe

Both of these will temporarily load a different BIOS into memory, and should then allow you to run Evox to flash a new BIOS. HeXEn is the simpler option, because it automates the whole process and allows you to do what you need from the menu, but the manual version will also work.

#8 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 03:22 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Feb 1 2012, 11:57 AM) View Post

You need to do one of two things:

- find an Xbox DVD drive that works, and boot HeXEn
- put PBL-metoo on your Xbox (metoo-m8plus-v1.4.1.zip), and make sure you have a bootable dash (preferably UnleashX) at C:\evoxdash.xbe

Both of these will temporarily load a different BIOS into memory, and should then allow you to run Evox to flash a new BIOS. HeXEn is the simpler option, because it automates the whole process and allows you to do what you need from the menu, but the manual version will also work.

ok will download hexen
am running unleash at the moment
will give it a try when found an xbox dvd drive
which bios to do after updating to metoo-m8plus v1.4.1 zip
what advantages will i get after updating to this bios
thanks

Edited by boxer29, 02 February 2012 - 03:22 AM.


#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 02 February 2012 - 03:28 AM

I've already answered that question, in the second post.

The advantage is that the Xbox will boot properly, and run Evox, and support larger hard drives, and generally be more stable.

#10 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 05:17 AM

got the disc
what version do i use
not winbond
or winbond
can you explain pls
thanks

i did the modchip/tsop (no winbond)
but the screen is stuck on copying pls wait
there is 00 00 in the elapsed time and time remaining
there is file at C:\evoxdash.xbe
is this correct

Edited by boxer29, 02 February 2012 - 05:32 AM.


#11 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:31 AM

I personaly think your hard disk is messed up a bit.
But make sure you burn hexen to a dvd-r "that has no scratches on it" at 4x or slower speed.

#12 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 11:35 AM

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Feb 2 2012, 10:31 AM) View Post

I personaly think your hard disk is messed up a bit.
But make sure you burn hexen to a dvd-r "that has no scratches on it" at 4x or slower speed.

ive burnt it on a cd-r and its booting up from the dvd drive
its not xbox dvd but a pc drive which is sitting on top of the xbox dvd drive i got it to work by following a tutorial here
i have got unleash in drive c and xbmc
i installed them on a fresh 20 gb hdd which i made by following the AID 4.53 installer from scratch
made the partition
then installed the unleash onto it in drive c
also in app i installed the xbmc
there is no ms dash though on the machine
what next

#13 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:01 PM

if i change the bios
will all my games on the hdd go or will they stay
cause at the moment installing some games on the hdd
if they will go then no need to waste time now
will do them later
thanks

@hemidall

installed another hdd with unleash x as my dash on to c:
did try the hexen cd in it
tried the tsop/modchip no winbond
did something but then said loading things from d: onto no drive name
i dont have a d:drive in my hdd apart from the dvd drive of a pc which is on top of the xbox dvd drive
it shows again pls wait
and the tims counter is stuck on 02 elapsed
how much time it takes for it to flash bios
and it didnt give me any option to choose the size of my chip which is 256 mb
what am i doing wrong
heimdall can you help pls
thanks

@hemidall
is my chip write protected how do i check this
and how turn this protection off
it says im xbmc sys info

modchip lookup disabled
modchip look up disabled

Edited by boxer29, 02 February 2012 - 02:10 PM.


#14 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:25 PM

@heimdall


here how it looks like look at the pic link plspic
when trying to do the bios update
this time i was trying to doing a bios clean up
still the same result
how to proceed now
thanks

Edited by boxer29, 02 February 2012 - 02:27 PM.


#15 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:28 AM

Heimdall where are you needed your expert advise here pls




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users