Jump to content


Photo

Slow Ftp


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:08 PM

I have a problem with FTP in my Xbox console. It is very slow. Sending 700MB takes about 1 hour!
Cable is OK, on PC it works great, speeds are also about 100Mb/s.
I set static IP. I have tried FileZilla and FlashXP and it doesn't matter...

UnleashX says 100Mb Full Duplex.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:52 PM

That's 1.5 MBit/s - a bit slow!

Try closing the console window from Filezilla, or increasing the number of simultaneous FTP sessions in UnleashX to 3, or 4.

Edited by Heimdall, 21 February 2012 - 12:03 AM.


#3 AZImmortal

AZImmortal

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 February 2012 - 12:04 AM

On my 100mbit full duplex network, I normally get sustained transfer speeds of around 9.x MB/s. Have you tried seeing if you get better speeds with a different dashboard? Unfortunately, I don't have any suggestions as to how you can fix this. Just to make sure that we're not overlooking something obvious, you're using a wired connection to your Xbox, correct?

Here's a transfer that I just did to my Xbox.
QUOTE
Transferred 4 Files (965.19 MB) in 1 minute 45 second (9.22 MB/s)

Edited by AZImmortal, 21 February 2012 - 12:04 AM.


#4 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 February 2012 - 01:56 AM

i get about 11Mb avarage speed via filezilla
Small files slow things down though..
if i transfer 100MB of 1k files it would take 10x longer than 1 100MB file.

the only way to counter act this is to set unleash x to allow 9 users. then set filezila to transfer 8 files at once.
that way the slow down is not noticable when transfering folders full of varied file sizes

Edited by shambles1980, 21 February 2012 - 01:58 AM.


#5 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 February 2012 - 02:16 PM

I can't change the limit of users in UnleashX. I set new value, confirm, and it is still 3.

I have wired connection.

I observed, that FlashXP or FileZilla transfer only 1 file at once - is it normal?

I will try direct connection with cross cable later.

#6 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 February 2012 - 03:32 PM

max value is 9..
so if you set 10.. it will go bak to what it was before.,

and you have to change the transfer options in filezilla to 8 transfers at once.

Edited by shambles1980, 21 February 2012 - 03:38 PM.


#7 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 February 2012 - 06:08 PM

I set users to 9. No results.

Where I can set in FileZilla to transfer 8 files at once?

I tried a direct connection with cross cable - transfer rate is about 9-10MB/s, so - perfect.

Maybe its problem with locked ports? But on computer on the same cable everything is OK...

Do you use passive or active mode?

Can you show me settings from dashboard and FileZilla?

Edited by MrMajst3r, 21 February 2012 - 06:35 PM.


#8 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 March 2012 - 04:36 PM

Any ideas? On direct connection speed are OK. When I use a router, speeds are like on dialup modem. Cables are OK.

#9 AZImmortal

AZImmortal

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:46 PM

I'm just throwing ideas out there, but have you tried to see if you get different results with different dashboards?

#10 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 17 March 2012 - 04:00 AM

Are you sure it's a router, not a cheap hub?

#11 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 March 2012 - 10:55 PM

Yes. It's Linksys WAG54G2.I even mount a new harddrive, install clean XBMC, set up IPs, and it doesn't work properly.
I tried another (softmoded) console with XBMC, and it works OK! What's wrong?
NIC rather is good, because on direct connection with cross cable it works OK!


#12 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 March 2012 - 03:29 AM

Have you played around with eeprom settings? Make sure you don't have duplicate MAC addresses.

#13 MrMajst3r

MrMajst3r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 March 2012 - 06:31 PM

I did not play with EEPROM. I only set it from PAL to NTSC (I used Enigmah Video Switcher).
You mean MAC on computer and on console? Where I can fin MAC address of Xbox? I will try with another PC card also...

I have few backups of eeprom from another consoles. Is there a possibility to replace it?

Edited by MrMajst3r, 30 March 2012 - 06:33 PM.


#14 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 March 2012 - 04:45 AM

Highly unlikely you have the same MAC address on any systems if you haven't been doing anything with the eeproms.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users