Jump to content


Photo

Advice Needed For Tsop Flash W. No Dvd


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#16 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 03 April 2012 - 01:12 PM

how was it softmodded and and do you have free space on e?


#17 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 03 April 2012 - 05:34 PM

P.S
Id use the 256k IND bios if i was you.
it will expand to the correct size if its to small..

it also works as default with no dvd drive connecxted so you dont need to mess with any files afterwards.

but 1st make sure you have space on E: (delete a game or something if you have some on there)

if your using a really old softmod maybe you should upgrade it using the hexen disk 1st also.
if your having issues doing that then ask about that too.

the hexen DVD is really usefull and even if your dashbpard is not upto date we can fix that thatnks to haveing all the files needed on the dvd.
But you have to do some stuff manually.

but again for now, just check you have the free space available as thats all you should really need.

#18 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 06:47 PM

There is about 3.5 gigabytes remaining on e drive. No games or applications are installed other then xbmc. Modded with ndure 3.1 and I used xboxhdm 1.9 and slayers stock c files according to heimdells instructions in his sig.

Edited by kenzo42, 03 April 2012 - 06:53 PM.


#19 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 04:10 AM

Anyone know what might br happening?

#20 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 April 2012 - 04:19 AM

Do you have HeXEn burned to DVD-R at 4x or slower?

#21 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:04 AM

Thanks Heimdell. Reburned and TSOP flash'd with X2 5035. This is running with no DVD drive. Yay!

3 questions:
1) It boots the "Xecuter, Rox my Xbox" logo, but it always hangs 5 seconds when it fades out. Any idea why?
2) As soon as Unleash starts, it doesn't run very smooth for 5 seconds and then it runs normally. ???
3) I can't save my skin. Is there a way to save it?

Thanks.

#22 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:48 AM

1,2. Try clearing the cache (E:\cache) and the X, Y and Z partitions.
3. You have to press A twice to get the skin changes to stick. It isn't a bug, it's a deliberate feature - the first press loads the skin into memory but doesn't change the config, so that if the skin has a bug that makes the menu unusable then on the next reboot it reverts to the original skin. The second press changes the skin selection in config.xml.

#23 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 05:28 PM

I already cleared the cache through the Hexen option. How do you clear it the xyz drives? Is it just by deleting all the contents under x y z ( they are all about 700 megabytes each).

Also does hexen have a way to install a larger hard drive? If not what's the best way to proceed about this? I searched and found a way through config magic but I prefer to use hexen if possible

Thanks again

Edited by kenzo42, 04 April 2012 - 05:36 PM.


#24 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 April 2012 - 05:37 PM

now that you have tsoped the xbox you just put in a new hard disk "when the xbox is off". and start the xbox with the hexen dvd in the drive.
Follow all on screen instructions.

when thats done and your in the hexen menu what i then do is.
go to applications.
run Xbpartitioner and make the drive the size i want it to be.
then go back to the hexen menu (back button on the controller 3-4 times)
then select clean c partition after tsop flash.

you can also simply select the build new hard disk option.
but i like to do it manually.

#25 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 April 2012 - 05:46 PM

Yes, you just delete the contents of X,Y and Z, but the HeXEn Clear Cache option does that for you. If that hasn't fixed the problem then maybe your disk is failing or faulty, or maybe your expectations of instantaneous booting are just a bit too high.

Config Magic doesn't do hard drive upgrades. It will give you the eeprom so you can use xboxhdm....

Of course HeXEn does hard drive upgrades, for softmod and hardmod Xboxes. The menu is fairly obvious, and has loads of instructions - try having a look around.....

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Apr 4 2012, 05:37 PM) View Post
you can also simply select the build new hard disk option.
but i like to do it manually.

The HeXEn automated version does the same thing as your manual version - but with fewer keypresses and less to remember. smile.gif

Edited by Heimdall, 04 April 2012 - 05:43 PM.


#26 Pat0514

Pat0514

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 April 2012 - 09:43 PM

my no dvd box (tsop w/m8+) would lag a bit during the boot up and in my evox menu, figured out it was because i was using the should-be dvd power cord to run a small fan. the only reason i noticed is because the tray status in the top corner of evox would bug out... moved the fan to run off the hard drive power line and no more laggy-ness

#27 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:43 PM

So the yellow connector that goes into the DVD drive powers both the DVD and fan?

How did you use the HD power connector to power the fan? A splitter and a converter of some sort?

#28 kenzo42

kenzo42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:12 AM

Re-read your post more carefully. Nothing is running off the yellow connector. It's just unplugged.

http://www.youtube.c...ZuqfcI2f8#t=42s

This youtube video is much much faster than my boot time. Does a chip boot faster than a TSOP flash?

BTW, I don't have an F: drive, only E: and C: - Wondering if this could be causing the slow down?

x2config.ini now first searched on F: and, if not found, on E: - if again not found then defaults are used

Edited by kenzo42, 05 April 2012 - 04:53 AM.


#29 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:31 AM

You may want to try another bios.. iND or M8+ ...at least to eliminate the bios as an issue. If you still think you have a problem with a different bios you'll know the problem is somewhere else.

Edited by Movax, 05 April 2012 - 06:32 AM.


#30 Pat0514

Pat0514

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:05 PM

QUOTE(kenzo42 @ Apr 4 2012, 05:43 PM) View Post

So the yellow connector that goes into the DVD drive powers both the DVD and fan?

How did you use the HD power connector to power the fan? A splitter and a converter of some sort?

yeah used a splitter as i made a slim box and the stock fan wouldnt fit. i powered the new fan off the hd power line in case it drew too much power (idk how many watts/amps you can suck out of the fan plug and the dvd drive power lines apparently dont like being used by things that arent dvd drives)

i would do what movax suggested and try another bios, m8+ always worked fine for me (allows booting without dvd), and i love tweakin the hell out of the boot logo colors with evtool




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users