Jump to content


Photo

X3 Unable To See Files On Harddrive


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 haverchuck

haverchuck

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 05:26 AM

I'm having a problem with my xbox with an X3 chip in it. I have a 1.5TB harddrive which was on my original xbox, which had a duox2 chip. It worked great in that, I could play all my xbox games, emulators and movies perfectly. I recently got an X3 chip, so I wanted to put the drive into that. The drive is unlocked, but I changed the HDD key in the new xbox to make sure it matches the drive. When I put in the drive, the xbox starts up fine, but then I can't see any of the stuff on the drive (except for the programs like configmagic). I've tried changing the bios (it is currently on 3294 I think), but I still can't see them. I even tried flashing on an evox bios (since that's what was running on the duox2) to see if they would appear, but that didn't help.

If anyone could offer any help as to how to fix this, it would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 03:29 PM

Stick with X3.3294, and use X3 Config Live to configure it to read the partition table from the disk.

#3 haverchuck

haverchuck

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 11:23 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Apr 15 2012, 12:29 AM) View Post

Stick with X3.3294, and use X3 Config Live to configure it to read the partition table from the disk.


Thanks for the reply. How do I do this? I went into Config Live, and I found where I could see the partition info, but I couldn't see how to configure it to read it.

#4 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:34 PM

RTFM. Saved Partition Table = enabled.

#5 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:02 PM

i find that the executer 2 bios dosent like to see files when the ind or m8 bios will.
Given you have multiple banks on a x3 chip. try flashing 1 of them with the ind or m8 bios.

#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 April 2012 - 03:48 PM

No, don't do that. smile.gif

X2.4xxx BIOSes don't read on-disk partition tables, that's why you had the problem. X2.5xxx and X3.3.xxx BIOSes are fine.

With an X3 chip you should ALWAYS stick with X3.3294.

Edited by Heimdall, 15 April 2012 - 03:49 PM.


#7 haverchuck

haverchuck

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 02:10 PM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Apr 15 2012, 11:34 PM) View Post

RTFM. Saved Partition Table = enabled.


This worked perfectly, thanks a million!

#8 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:45 PM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Apr 15 2012, 03:48 PM) View Post

No, don't do that. smile.gif

X2.4xxx BIOSes don't read on-disk partition tables, that's why you had the problem. X2.5xxx and X3.3.xxx BIOSes are fine.

With an X3 chip you should ALWAYS stick with X3.3294.



whats so special about the x3 3.394 bios?

i dont have a x3 any more so cant use it to find out..
on my x2 i use ind bios.

#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:57 PM

X3.3294 has an inbuilt console, X3 Config Live, to allow you to do loads of things:

- customise every aspect of the BIOS (no more reflashing or editing of config files)
- FTP to the Xbox to load a dash without needing a boot disk
- build a new hard drive (F/G up to 256GB only i.e. 16kB clusters, but it gets the drive booting nomatter how big it is)
- flash, manage and name all BIOS banks
- eeprom backup and restore
- network and video settings, including region setting
- disk lock and unlock
- video mode enable (480p etc.)
- fan speed adjustment
etc., etc.

Edited by Heimdall, 17 April 2012 - 03:45 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users