Jump to content


Photo

Soft Mod Xbox Help


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:42 PM

ive got an xbox which i want to softmod
i have made a xbox usb female adapter and have a 128 mb usb stick it shows in my other hard modded xbox
i also have a splinter cell game so would be looking to use this exploit my questions are
1 is the 128 mb usb stick more then enough
whats the easiest method to do this soft mod
would like to transfer the old contents into the new 160 gb hdd whats the quickest way to do that between two xbox ,i have got null and straight cable
thanks


#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:53 PM

128MB is fine.

Use the Krayzie 1.1.1 softmod installer. Select BAsic Install - UnleashX Dashboard.

Connect both Xboxes to your home network and use FTP to transfer the contents.

#3 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:09 PM

thanks
have downloaded the krayzie sc pal ndure installer v1.1 after googling it
it has got 10 mb files
with sc 1 and sc 2 files
is this the correct version
just trying to read how to do it


#4 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:08 PM

done that
but the xbox has got an old dashboard
K 1.00.5101.01
D 1.00.5659.03
do i have to get out of the installation menus and update the dashboard
and then start allover
any suggestions
thanks
ps i just play a new game for the dash board to update or how do i update that


done that
but the xbox has got an old dashboard
K 1.00.5101.01
D 1.00.5659.03
do i have to get out of the installation menus and update the dashboard
and then start allover
any suggestions
thanks
ps i just play a new game for the dash board to update or how do i update that


i did back up my eeprom in the exploit


#5 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:47 PM

There are two ways to update the dash:

1. Run any post 2004 Live-enabled game (Halo 2 or later). Load the game, start to log in to live, the first thing the game will do is update the dash. Once that's done you can do the softmod.

2. Start the softmod installer. When you get to the installation menu, use FTP to delete the current dash (all of the contents of the C partition) and replace it with the latest version (5960, around 180MB). Once that's finished you continue with the softmod.

#6 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:55 PM

where can i get the 5960 dash to download
my other xbox has it ,can i extract it from there .what files should i need ,its hard modded as well
thanks
will try to find any post 2004 live game as well

is it a straight swap if i want to install later a bigger hdd to xbox


#7 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:58 PM

Google (ms-dash-mik3h.rar or Cdrive.rar), or xbins.

No, because you have no idea what might have been deleted from your hard modded Xbox.

No, for a softmod you have to build the new hard drive and lock it. See the link in my signature for a summary of how to build a softmod Xbox hard drive.

Edited by Heimdall, 14 April 2012 - 10:00 PM.


#8 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:14 PM

there is a 3rd and prehaps easier way.. (and possibly the only way barring hotswap, if you dont have a 2004 or later game to update with)

run through all the steps for the softmod like you did, but now chose minimal install. "not basic"
this will only need the eeprom back up.

when its done bot up withe hexen dvd, "heimdalls xbox engineering disk"
use that to go to file explorer.

now go to you C: (on the xbox) and delete everything in there (DO NOT TURN OFF THE XBOX)
now find the D: drive and in there find "stock files"
Copy everything thats In D:\Stock files to C:\
Still do not turn off your xbox.

now go to softmod tools in hexen. and select one click install krazies ndure 1.1.1
and this time you can select basic install and it will all go fine.


i know this way works as i have been a bit lazy a few times and said why bother to update the dash twice when im just going to have hexen replace everything any way.

Hope it helps.

Edited by shambles1980, 14 April 2012 - 11:17 PM.


#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:18 PM

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Apr 14 2012, 11:14 PM)  
now go to you C: (on the xbox) and delete everything in there (DO NOT TURN OFF THE XBOX)
now find the D: drive and in there find "stock files"
Copy everything thats In D:\Stock files to C:\
Still do not turn off your xbox.

That's an excellent suggestion, but you don't need to do the bit I quoted.

Just do the minimal installation, then boot with HeXEn and select the one click install. HeXEn always replaces the stock dash, so I could be certain it would always work. smile.gif

Edited by Heimdall, 14 April 2012 - 11:19 PM.


#10 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:35 PM

That never worked for me ..
i had to manualy replace the stock files before i could softmod..

could have been a one off issue. but because of the problems that it can throw up If you get the issue i would still personally recomend puting the stock files on C manually 1st..

(its really a case of better safe than potentially sorry)


hexen is an awesome disk, and imo it has prety much everything you could possibly want on a disk.
I never leave home without it.

Edited by shambles1980, 14 April 2012 - 11:37 PM.


#11 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:57 AM

downloaded the file ms-dash-mik3h.rar as advised by heimdall
quite a few option ,thanks for sharing
will try to install and then update
thanks

can you guys also tell me a stable xbmc for the xbox
want to stream my enigma 2 reciever to my upstairs bedroom ,have tried the r31096 simple and by t3ch
but none worked for me
was using tuxbox://192.168.2.10:80
but says cant connect to the server
sorry if this is no the right section for this


#12 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 April 2012 - 01:11 AM

the latest nightly build is stable. so id just use that.

just wondering why your using port 80 though. i know its an open port for the internet. but is it a port you have to use? Id imagine it would work better if you defined a diferent port and then had the router forward data from that porrt to the xbox.

Edited by shambles1980, 15 April 2012 - 01:13 AM.


#13 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:36 PM

QUOTE(shambles1980 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:11 AM)  

the latest nightly build is stable. so id just use that.

just wondering why your using port 80 though. i know its an open port for the internet. but is it a port you have to use? Id imagine it would work better if you defined a diferent port and then had the router forward data from that porrt to the xbox.

my system is set up like this
i can stream on my samsunl galaxy s 2 using the same port and ip setting
but when i try to do it via the xbox it says cant connect to server
do i have to open the port ,would it be open if i can stream to my phone
thanks

#14 boxer29

boxer29

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:15 PM

all done
updated the dash to 5960 with fifa worl cup 2006
and then back up the eeprom
installed unleash x
now will try to put the xbmc
and a bigger hdd at the moment it has 10 gb
thanks





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users