Jump to content


Photo

Freestyle Dash Update, Now I Can't See Text


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 jaroc

jaroc

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
  • Interests:Xbox and Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:32 AM

I did the dash update within FSD, and now I can't see any text at all in FSD. Anyone know if there's a way I can fix this through FTP? I tried deleting the data folder to no avail.

#2 TheRealJPizzle

TheRealJPizzle

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:36 AM

use the FSD Installer or just FTP the latest FSD package over your current install

#3 jaroc

jaroc

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
  • Interests:Xbox and Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:37 AM

lol just did that, thanks for the quick reply though. Shoulda tried that first i guess

awesome, now I have to manually reinstall every box art and game description, thanks freestyle dash!

Edited by jaroc, 07 June 2012 - 01:39 AM.


#4 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:46 AM

Mine does that automatically. I don't recall having to specifically configure it to do that, all I did was configure the folder locations so that FSD knew where to look for games, emulators etc, and once it had finished scanning it then downloaded all of the art and descriptions.

Edited by Heimdall, 07 June 2012 - 01:50 AM.


#5 jaroc

jaroc

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
  • Interests:Xbox and Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 June 2012 - 06:01 AM

I have my login for the cover downloading setup but for some reason I have to go to every game, press Y and then select "refresh artwork" or it won't show up.

Still having weird text issues with the dash, I forget... where is the reset skin settings option? Can't seem to find it.


#6 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 01:20 AM

Sorry to bump such an old topic, (I did a search and this seems to be the only thread that matched me sorry).

I just updated my Kernel, as well as Avatar stuff, and lost all text on FSD. This doesn't happen in the standard 360 menu, JUST in FSD. I tried reinstalling FSD a couple of times, (and changed the directory in launch.ini) even once in a different directory completley to no avail. I can delete everything in the installed direcory except the Data folder.

I even tried FTP'ing a couple of new skins into the SKins folder, and they don't show up! Please help!

Edited by PUNJABEE, 06 April 2013 - 01:22 AM.


#7 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Local Retard

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,967 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:30 AM

What version FSD do you have?

#8 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:54 AM

QUOTE(steveo1978 @ Apr 6 2013, 02:30 AM) View Post

What version FSD do you have?



I'm on FSD 3 for sure, and I know you're probably wanting an actual revision version, but unfortunately I can't get that because of this problem, ha!

#9 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Local Retard

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,967 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:58 AM

try putting FSD on a USB device and have a launch.ini that directs dashlaunch to load that FSD

#10 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:19 AM

QUOTE(steveo1978 @ Apr 6 2013, 04:58 AM) View Post

try putting FSD on a USB device and have a launch.ini that directs dashlaunch to load that FSD


Doing that now thanks.

Although, I might have some worse news. I was mistaken about the standard 360 Dash. It does _not_ have text. It's got the "Games, Apps, Media" tabs up top, but once in there, no text. I'm wondering if trying the USB FSD thing might be useless since it's actually affecting the standard 360 dash.

#11 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:47 AM

Looks like someone on another forum mentioned it's probably a write error with the NAND flash, and that seems to be it.

Oh well, I'll do another search. This is clearly not an FSD problem. Thank you for your help Steveo!

#12 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Local Retard

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,967 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:51 AM

come to #freestyledash on IRC in the EFNet network. I can help you better there and there a few people there that can help

#13 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:58 AM

QUOTE(steveo1978 @ Apr 6 2013, 05:51 AM) View Post

come to #freestyledash on IRC in the EFNet network. I can help you better there and there a few people there that can help



Coolness, I'm in there now. Same nick.


#14 PUNJABEE

PUNJABEE

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:51 PM

Just wanted to update this thread and let everyone know that it was indeed a bad write with the NAND. I rebuilt an image with JRunner and reflashed, and it worked 100%. Thanks again for your help, steveo!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users