Jump to content


Photo

Need Help Identifying Modchip


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2012 - 03:34 AM

QUOTE(Movax @ Jun 24 2012, 09:56 AM) View Post

it's highley unlikely someone would go to the trouble of trying to make an LPC modchip fit under the board. If you don't see a chip (should be very, very obvious), it's TSOP flashed.


SmartXX LT OPX and another chip that I can't remember right now had the ability to be soldered directly to the bottom of the xbox motherboard.

They also had standard pinheader & quick solder options so it's still highly unlikely someone would go about installing them on the underside of the motherboard.

EDIT:
The other chip I was thinking of was the X-Changer v2.5 (wasn't very popular & came out towards the end of the xbox1 life cycle).

X-Changer v2.5 bottom side installation on 1.6 console: http://www.x-changer...c25manual16.jpg

Edited by Alex548, 26 June 2012 - 03:42 AM.


#17 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 02:07 PM

QUOTE(Movax @ Jun 25 2012, 02:56 AM) View Post

Not with the evox logo showing, it's highley unlikely someone would go to the trouble of trying to make an LPC modchip fit under the board. If you don't see a chip (should be very, very obvious), it's TSOP flashed.



OK, I had to drill the two screws holding the plastic bracket in place. It has a (small) modchip with 2 wires running from it. There is a single EEPROM chip on the (small) rectangular board, on the EEPROM chip, there is some worn text I cannot make out (curved) over a large number 2.

This looks like the cheapest modchip you can buy, and is probably just a replacement BIOS?

I successfully flashed the XBOX with EvoX m8, and it has been running splendidly.

I'll crack open the case completely, and take some lovely blurry photos, and maybe someone can help identify this.

I am in Australia, and this is a PAL XBOX (v1.5).

back soon with photos!!!

#18 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 01:48 AM

Here it is...

IPB Image

Anyone have any instructions for this clone monstrosity?

Oh, and it appears that it is only a 1.4 XBOX :)

Got info from AVALAUNCH :)

Cheers.

Edited by themacmeister, 27 June 2012 - 01:49 AM.


#19 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 June 2012 - 02:13 AM

Instructions for what, exactly?

#20 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 June 2012 - 04:33 AM

Aladdin clone smile.gif

#21 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:26 AM

QUOTE(Alex548 @ Jun 25 2012, 10:34 PM) View Post

X-Changer v2.5 bottom side installation on 1.6 console: http://www.x-changer...c25manual16.jpg


How odd. The chip was the LPC rebuild.


#22 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 02:35 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Jun 27 2012, 11:13 AM) View Post

Instructions for what, exactly?


You know how much of a n00b I am Heimdall :-)

Quite a few modchips allow you to break into the modchip BIOS/OS to do chores like swap drives, format, etc.

Just wondering if this cheap little clone would have anything similar...

PS. The chip did not work whatsoever before a fresh TSOP flash. It was just a regular retail XBOX :-(

Does the TSOP flash require the modchip?

If not, what the hell is the modchip doing in there? I assume it is broken. Wouldn't be the first Aladdin 2 to go that way :-)

I read somewhere you can access the BIOS by holding the power button in on start, but I have tried that already, twice... no go.

PS. Tried this before the TSOP flash

Any info gratefully accepted... cheers.

Edited by themacmeister, 28 June 2012 - 02:43 AM.


#23 XBOX360NYMODING

XBOX360NYMODING

    X-S Member

  • Last Chance
  • Pip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:NY
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:52 AM

i have seen those chips before - if the chip was dead then come one must have try and reflashed with and did it with the wrong bios.

for a tsop would dont need a modchip u could solder 2 points and use a memory card + 007 smile.gif

#24 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:04 PM

You really are making this up as you go along. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(themacmeister @ Jun 28 2012, 02:35 AM) View Post
The chip did not work whatsoever before a fresh TSOP flash. It was just a regular retail XBOX
Completely untrue:
QUOTE(themacmeister @ Jun 17 2012, 08:53 AM) View Post
This one has an EvoX stamp in the top left corner of startup screen (the blob).
Hence the Xbox was already modded, it was simply missing a dashboard.

QUOTE(themacmeister @ Jun 28 2012, 02:35 AM) View Post
Quite a few modchips allow you to break into the modchip BIOS/OS to do chores like swap drives, format, etc.
The Alladin doesn't, and even on the chips that do you aren't "breaking into the modchip BIOS/OS", you are running a chip console app.

QUOTE(themacmeister @ Jun 28 2012, 02:35 AM) View Post
Does the TSOP flash require the modchip?
No, and you didn't flash the TSOP, you simply reflashed the chip.

QUOTE(themacmeister @ Jun 28 2012, 02:35 AM) View Post
I read somewhere you can access the BIOS by holding the power button in on start, but I have tried that already, twice... no go.
Again, I read somewhere that Elvis was alive and living on the moon, that doesn't make it true. Stop flogging this dead horse - just because the X3 and the SmartXX support this doesn't mean that your chip will. The Aladdin (real or clone) doesn't have a chip console app.

Your chip is a standard, simple container for a 256kB BIOS. It is wired to be on permanently. Nothing more.

Edited by Heimdall, 28 June 2012 - 12:24 PM.


#25 louiemarques

louiemarques

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 03:46 PM

thanks for the info...

#26 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 29 June 2012 - 06:30 AM

Ouch,

I think I'll stop posting now wink.gif

I appreciate all the helpful advice.

You need to remember that I had never seen a modchip before cracking this case smile.gif

Also, I assume the TSOP flash everyone talks about is soldering some points on the board, and flashing the MS BIOS! The modchip is a tad more involved, but probably a lot safer right?!

I now understand the EvoX badge, and now the iNP startup screen more thoroughly too.

I want to swap out the 10GB HDD for a 40GB HDD, can I use your engineering disc for that Heimdall?

Do I need to do a hotswap for a brand new HDD/install?

Cheers, thanks for everything... there is very little I have to learn now :/

themacmeister.

#27 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 June 2012 - 10:57 AM

Modchip and TSOP are essentially the same thing, just one is on the motherboard and one isn't. Neither is safer.

Adding a larger hard drive is really easy with a chipped/flashed Xbox. Install the new disk, boot with HeXEn, select option "3.5.2. Clean C partition after TSOP flash".

That's it. Really staightforward, no hotswapping involved.

#28 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:40 AM

No offence Heimdall, but I used Slayers disc. Now a whopping 40GB <sigh>

It was a two step process, but just as easy (and I have no DHCP, and I already had a static config on Slayers).

Now just have to find one of those mythical 500/650 GB IDE hard drives.

Cheers.

#29 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 July 2012 - 02:13 PM

None taken. Slayers is fine, just no good if your hard drive is larger than 256GB. It also has some older BIOSes that you should avoid.

#30 themacmeister

themacmeister

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 02:23 AM

Thanks for the detailed info.

I am thinking of using an IDE->SATA adaptor, are there any issues I might need to check on first?

Much easier to find a SATA drive these days. Actually, just came into possession of a 250GB Maxtor.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users