Jump to content


Photo

Xbox E5 Modchip Died, Urg...


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 02:41 AM

I think i might have a little problm, i have the Error code 5, with mean that my HDD is not locked, and my modchip i used to use, died... or isnt working... i think the modchip is a Xodus chameleon... any idea how to fix it? Thanks alot biggrin.gif (And my HDD isnt the original)

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 July 2012 - 04:18 AM

1. Check the chip for loose connections
2. Replace the chip
3. Install a softmod and use your eeprom backup to lock the disk.

#3 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 04:36 AM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Jul 5 2012, 04:18 AM) View Post

1. Check the chip for loose connections
2. Replace the chip
3. Install a softmod and use your eeprom backup to lock the disk.

1-How can we do that
2-I dont rlly want to buy another chip
3-dont we need a working hdd to do that?

Thanks alot mate for helping

#4 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 July 2012 - 11:49 AM

Don't quote the immediately preceding post - it's completely pointless.

1. Open up the Xbox and inspect it visually. As your chip is a Chameleon you have loads more options here than just simple loose wires. Go to this modchip features table and download the Chameleon manual and the other installation documents. It tells you how to set the dip switches to use different BIOS banks, and how to use the power and eject buttons to boot from different BIOS banks. Try the power / eject booting options first. If that doesn't work, make a note of the starting positions of all DIP switches, then work through it logically, trying different combinations to see if any of them work.
2. You may have no choice
3. Your hard drive isn't broken - Error 5 is a system error, not a drive error

Edited by Heimdall, 05 July 2012 - 11:50 AM.


#5 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 07:12 PM

1- I have some picture, im not sure what chip it is, because i dont see any chip like my chip in the modchip table...
IPB Image
IPB Image

And i dont know anything about my modchip and stuff, should i connect it to my pc and look @ the info of my chip?

2-If its the only way to still play burnout on my xbox... ill have to spend 25$...

3-Can i softmod my xbox and then use an unlocked hdd without modchip?

Cant i just relock my hdd with XBOXHDM?

Edited by Habofro, 05 July 2012 - 07:18 PM.


#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 July 2012 - 08:44 PM

1. So what made you randomly decide the chip was a Chameleon? rolleyes.gif I don't recognise the board at all, but it's a similar shape to this one. What type is the actual chip?

3. No. Softmods need the disk to be locked.

Yes, you can relock the disk with xboxhdm if you have the eeprom, but it won't solve your problem, because you don't have a softmod on the disk. However, xboxhdm can fix that for you as well - see the link in my signature, Build a new softmod disk with eeprom.

#7 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 09:19 PM

1-Just find out that its an Xodus MAtrix(http://www.xbox-scen...EpypJIbgMkH.php)
2-I got WinLSP and the programmer, downloading EvoX 2.6 atm...
3-ill reflash the chip, is it okay?
4-I dont have any eeprom...

#8 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 July 2012 - 09:31 PM

Evox 2.6?

If you want to flash another BIOS, go for Evox M8+ or iND-BIOS.5003.

#9 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:50 PM

Download link for it? It took me long anof to find EvoX 2.5...

#10 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:04 AM

Links aren't allowed here. Try xbins, or Google.

#11 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:18 AM

Evox M8+ only work on xbox V 1.6, and mine is V 1.0 or 1.1 i belive

#12 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:22 AM

I wouldn't have told you to use it if it didn't work. There are two versions - one for 1.0-1.5, one for 1.6.

#13 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:58 AM

oki, thanks, ill google it smile.gif

And damn, i love this forum smile.gif

#14 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:00 AM

you know what size bios it is right?
because you will need to know that..

I would use the IND bios personally..

And off topic.

@heimdall.

remember me telling you i could flash the 1.6 m8 bios to earlier revizion boards..
well it dosent seem to work on 1.0 xboxes..


#15 Habofro

Habofro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:42 AM

I know i will have to shrink the bios to 256 or something like that kbs and i found a tsop named evox_matrix_tsop_flash, is it a bios or?

And where can i find iND BIOS for 1.0?

Thanks alot for all your answer mate!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users