Jump to content


Photo

X3 Ce Frag On All Banks. 2.6 Boots Fine..


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:20 AM

ok so i bough this xbox because it has an x3 ce. + lcd screen. and the front pannel jobby..

Guy said hard disk was dead so i said what the hell.

recived it today and well the cable that goes from bank select was broken (1 wire for flash protect) so i tried to boot it.. no joy on any banks. cant boot recovery either..

so i went ahead and fixed the flash protect wire.. "light changes on chip when i press the button on the bank select now so its a good job"

any way i decided id use evox to flash it.
edited evox.ini so it had
Flash = 0x01AD,"XECUTER 3",0x100000
and then i added flash bios to the drive...

so i go to flash the chip via hotswap. "figured 2.6ce would do as they use the same pin header excetera" boots fine with the 2.6 and i get to the flash part and i get..

Device id FF manufacturer id FF
Flash not writable..

now i want to know why is it saying FF not 09..
and why cant i flash this dumb chip..

been at it for a while now figured id come ask.


Edited by shambles1980, 16 September 2012 - 02:23 AM.


#2 Nextelhalo

Nextelhalo

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Location:ATX
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:12 PM

Check the flash protect switch on the X3 chip itself, also were you able to fix the external switch wires for the X3? I remember having problems doing anything without that external switch hooked up.

#3 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:35 PM

yeah i fixed the pro switch.
and i had a stabndard 1 had tio resolder the bank swiches to thart. its missing the power/eject button converter board but that is not needed But is probably why i cant get to back up bios..

the chip has all its lights and stuff on but the led on the bank selector states the chip is dissabled..

if i hook up the d0 it frags. if i dont hook up the d0 then the xbox boots as stock..
i have 2 2.6's and they both boot fine with the install so the lpc is fine.

it has to be chip related.

i have tried to wire a reset/eject power direct to the front pannel but that seemed to fail.
i may solder them to resisters on the board.

but its still strange..

also if i install it on a 1.6 i get 09 error not writable. on a 1.0 i get FF

#4 Suicidal Dreams

Suicidal Dreams

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 01:19 PM

can you get into the backup bios?

EDIT: Oops, you said you can't boot recovery. my bad.

Did you try hooking it up to lan and using a web browser to see the system?

Edited by Suicidal Dreams, 27 September 2012 - 01:21 PM.


#5 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 September 2012 - 01:25 PM

the chip just wont enable according to the front pannel.
i set it to one side for now i had a bunch of other work to do.

il try a fresh install in a diferent system some time i guess.

#6 Suicidal Dreams

Suicidal Dreams

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 01:27 PM

odd. good luck on that man.

#7 turfster

turfster

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Music, Golf, and fixing electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 September 2012 - 10:55 PM

I have an extra power/eject button converter board and pro switch but no wire for pro switch. If you need them I'll ship them to you to try.

#8 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 September 2012 - 11:18 PM

may take you up on that offer soon.
but for right now im busy with decorating the new house. and im fixing up an rsx 100

#9 pattythefatty

pattythefatty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 06:26 PM

some of the X3CE had an error in the silk screen for the onboard flash protect. Try flipping the on board switch the other direction and try flashing then.
-PTF




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users