Jump to content


Photo

No Video Signal


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 stephace

stephace

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 October 2012 - 01:54 PM

Hi!

I have a v 1.6 xbox and it powers on but does not give any video signal. Tray opens fine, but no video and no sound obviously.
Is it completely dead or is it fixable? Any ideas welcome
Best regards!

#2 AZImmortal

AZImmortal

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2012 - 11:28 PM

What does the light around the eject button display when you turn it on? Green? Red? Flashing/alternating colors?

#3 stephace

stephace

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 October 2012 - 01:07 PM

it is solid green!


#4 AZImmortal

AZImmortal

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2012 - 07:37 AM

Do you have another set of cables to test with or another Xbox to test your current cables on to rule out whether or not your cables work?

#5 stephace

stephace

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2012 - 11:48 AM

I have tried swapping cables it did not help.

what could cause this? is it the video chip or the video out plug? Or maybe the motherboard is damaged, although I have disassembled completely and it looks flawless on the surface. I have re-installed a clean C drive to put her back to its original state to rule out any hdd fault as well. did not help.


#6 stephace

stephace

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2012 - 04:15 PM

Actually when I start the box it stays solid green. If video cable is unplugged it flashes green and orange, but If open dvd rom it flashes green and red. blink.gif
Does this mean anything useful?
Oh and if it is started with the eject button it flashes green and goes back solid green, but if I press the eject button again it flashes green and red.

Edited by stephace, 16 October 2012 - 04:18 PM.


#7 AZImmortal

AZImmortal

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:36 PM

For the flashing green/red, is it continuous green/red after it starts or does it stop? Also, a normal Xbox needs to have the A/V cable plugged in during bootup to boot properly so any testing that you do should be with the A/V cable plugged in.

#8 shambles1980

shambles1980

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • Location:wales uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 October 2012 - 01:39 AM

prehaps it would be better to start at the beggining...

it seems like you have tried to softmod it? because you state reinstalled C..
or do you have a mod chip installed?

if you did soft mod it did you play with any programs before the issue ocured..

honestly i think you need to give more background info so we can help other wise its going to be drawing straws for a long time and then some one will eventually blame the mcpx chip..

so yeah a lot more info leading up to the issue would help.

this can "with the info provided" be prety much anything really. ranging from eeprom conflict/enigma settings/incorrect bios/harware failure/mcpx died/messed up dash...

Edited by shambles1980, 17 October 2012 - 01:42 AM.


#9 stephace

stephace

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 October 2012 - 03:58 PM

Ok well basically I got this xbox from a friend. When I turned it on it did not give any video signal at all. It turned on ok. The light stays solid green. But it does not go to a boot screen or any screen basically. That is why I thought it does not give any video signal.
As for the softmod I did not install any softmod on it just yet. What I did was read the eeprom with an eeprom reader created an xbhm installer and reinstalled a fresh new C, with no softmod. Locked the hdd put it back together and still nothing. So it rules out the hdd at least.
these are all the informations what I could come up with.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users