Jump to content


Photo

New revision of Corona Motherboard (v3 / 16mb) spotted in the wild


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 November 2012 - 12:41 AM

New revision of Corona Motherboard (v3 / 16mb) spotted in the wild
Posted by GaryOPA | November 4 18:41 EST | News Category: Xbox360
 
A 'downgraded' Corona version?

It looks like a new XBOX 360 Corona MoBo revision was spotted by the guys over at hackfaq.net highlighting some security changes.

Xbox-Scene

Thanks to the guys over at hackfaq.net, there's some info of a new ‘downgraded’ Corona revision (v4? or v3/16mb) for the XBOX 360.

As expected, there are some security changes. Here are the main two, via Homebrew-Connection:

[QUOTE]
- There is no longer POSTbit connected to a point outside of the processor. The POST is used to get the debug info from the console and is used in the RGH to know if the console start glitched (ie start correctly) or if it need a reset to try another time.

Xbox-Scene

This means it’s now a lot harder to glitch the new machines … for example the russian guys over at hackfaq removed the CPU to get postbit access. Let’s hope hackers find a alternative to the POST.

Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

- Some resistors linked to J2C3.X pads have also been removed. These points are used to dump/flash the nand and for i2c SDA/SCL signal transmissions. You will need to brigde the pads to be able do read/write and properly send the i2c signals.

Xbox-Scene

According to them, most likely this isn't the same Corona revision that T-X was able to glitch, as they've said that one has a 64MB NAND, while the MoBo described here is said to have a 16MB NAND. But of course, for the moment, that is just speculation.

So, just stay tuned for more news about this new Corona rev. in the upcoming days!

News-Source: New Corona Motherboard spotted! (via) 360Crunch







#2 Pseudo99

Pseudo99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 76 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:04 AM

Why do you have to remove the CPU? Can't you just scrape the line and solder to that? Or scrape and create a pad at the hole on the other end?

#3 jm206

jm206

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 06:56 AM

There IS no line to scrape anymore, look carefully at the pictures.

That's why they had to remove the CPU and run a wire under it.

Picture 3 shows where it used to connect, you can see in picture 4 that those points aren't connected to the CPU anymore.

MS may not be able to completely kill RGH, but this would wipe out any chance for most modders to glitch the new consoles if they have to have to reball and reflow each time.

Edited by jm206, 05 November 2012 - 06:59 AM.


#4 vb_encryption_vb

vb_encryption_vb

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:Acworth,GA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 November 2012 - 12:56 PM

Time to buy a reflow/reball machine.

#5 b1g1an

b1g1an

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 02:10 PM

I've just got a 4Gb that's dated 2012-07-06, anyone know if that should that be one of the exploitable V3s?

#6 gamesquest1

gamesquest1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:uk, kent
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2012 - 01:00 AM

i actually dont see this as anything major, im sure tx and co. will enjoy pushing out a new rgh toy, namely a little precision cutout clip that clips in and under the cpu to gain post out, luckily the post out point is on the side of the cpu so should be fairly easy to design

#7 sudburymods

sudburymods

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 November 2012 - 02:25 AM

There is no need to remove the cpu\gpu , using a thin wire you can solder it to that ball. Of course only for the experienced.

#8 nafeasonto

nafeasonto

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:03 PM

I can't wait for the new xbox, probably won't even be JTAGABLE.

#9 iglitare

iglitare

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 02:11 PM

are you talking about the new xbox720 or whatever it will be called?
And if Yes, then why are you talking about it here?

But BTT
i agree with sudburymods. Could be tough, but it is possible.

#10 warbeast

warbeast

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,170 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 09:51 PM

i say a good solderless U shape device each end of the u goes to the left and right xclamp hole with the bottom of the U having the solderless pin then maybe 2 new Standoff Screws

untill ms start to plaster it with glue like they did to try and stop rrod on fats

#11 riahc3

riahc3

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 192 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:50 PM

Any updates on this revision? Is it exploitable now?

#12 BoNg420

BoNg420

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 11 February 2013 - 02:30 PM

QUOTE(riahc3 @ Feb 11 2013, 07:50 AM) View Post

Any updates on this revision? Is it exploitable now?



Yes, all Corona are exploitable now. Here is a way to identify your Corona board

http://team-xecuter....tion-solutions/

Here is a part you need for this V3

http://www.vgcrepair...postfix-adapter

QUOTE(warbeast @ Nov 7 2012, 03:51 PM) View Post

i say a good solderless U shape device each end of the u goes to the left and right xclamp hole with the bottom of the U having the solderless pin then maybe 2 new Standoff Screws

untill ms start to plaster it with glue like they did to try and stop rrod on fats


Wonder if Xecuter used your idea to make their Postfix adapter somewhat lol

#13 lettuce

lettuce

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:31 PM

Do we have any manufacture date of console that have v3/4 corona boards?? Im after a v1 or v2 so if i could get a rough manufactures date of when the v3 started appear i know what dates to avoid?

#14 BoNg420

BoNg420

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 March 2013 - 07:14 PM

QUOTE(lettuce @ Mar 7 2013, 11:31 AM) View Post

Do we have any manufacture date of console that have v3/4 corona boards?? Im after a v1 or v2 so if i could get a rough manufactures date of when the v3 started appear i know what dates to avoid?

not to sure on when V3 started to be seen, but corona first came out around Aug/Sept 2011

#15 jaysismyson

jaysismyson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:46 AM

aion kinah kaufen can't wait for the new xbox, probably won't even be JTAGABLE.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users