Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial For Converting Xbox Retail To Xbox Devkit


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 hydrasworld

hydrasworld

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 09 July 2003 - 09:05 AM

I did this yesterday:

http://www.hydras-wo...oxretailtodebug

Update: webmasters, feel free to link to this page, it's now in it's final place.

Please post comments and feedback below.

Edited by hydrasworld, 20 July 2003 - 08:04 PM.


#2 freak1

freak1

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 09 July 2003 - 09:46 AM

this tutorial rox!

#3 CaliSurfer008

CaliSurfer008

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,458 posts
  • Interests:Brahm is a whore
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 July 2003 - 05:55 PM

i could perm. host it if u want

#4 mystik

mystik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 July 2003 - 10:02 PM

QUOTE (hydrasworld @ Jul 9 2003, 10:05 AM)
Note: I wanted to use EvoX to launch XShell, but it appears that when "xbdm.dll" is present on the xbox's E drive and the "Edashboard.xbx" is pointing to "Cevoxdash.xbe" the XBox won't reboot correctly.  If anyone knows of a fix for this let me know.

Newer versions of evox have problems with the debug bios (or so i read). I stepped back a few revisions, and the strangness (it was doing some crazy shit) disappeared for me biggrin.gif (tatx bios with evox 2812). Avalaunch works as well.

#5 Xbox-Savage

Xbox-Savage

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,047 posts
  • Location:Top of the world
  • Interests:To Sleep with your mommy.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 July 2003 - 10:19 PM

QUOTE (hydrasworld @ Jul 9 2003, 07:05 AM)
I did this yesterday:

http://www.zenadsl58.../xbox/tutorial1

WEBMASTERS!  DO NOT LINK TO THIS TUTORIAL YET AS IT'S ONLY IN A TEMPORARY LOCATION!

Please post comments and feedback below.

wink.gif what is that xlaunch.ini for?

tried it, didnt work. sad.gif

im using TATX_Debug_Dual.bin [1mb]
with the ones that you said.

Edited by Xbox-Savage, 09 July 2003 - 10:28 PM.


#6 Xbox-Savage

Xbox-Savage

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,047 posts
  • Location:Top of the world
  • Interests:To Sleep with your mommy.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 July 2003 - 11:08 PM

NOW it works muhaha.gif

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

The bad thing about the 5558 is that has Live , you could go Live with out wanting and get banned. sad.gif

Edited by Xbox-Savage, 09 July 2003 - 11:35 PM.


#7 EvilWays

EvilWays

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,333 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 July 2003 - 12:55 AM

If you're using it as a dev box only, then it shouldn't matter. If need be, just stick in another NIC card in your PC and use crossover cable to the Xbox and set the card up so that it can't access the internet/XBL.

#8 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 July 2003 - 12:57 AM

Well, the other option is to copy your EEPROM settings off and change your S/N to 0000000000000

#9 Threepwood

Threepwood

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 10 July 2003 - 08:08 AM

Hey this is a very good tutorial, very easy to follow and with nice illustrations, nice!

i saw your VC.NET environment with all that outlining, is it possible to automatically turn on outlining for c/c++ code (without defining each block etc)? i couldnt find it..

#10 wongtong2g

wongtong2g

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 138 posts

Posted 12 July 2003 - 02:27 AM

sorry for sounding like a n00b, but

why would you want to convert your xbox to a dev one?

i know the real dev ones have extra memory, but i thought that was the only difference.

#11 hydrasworld

hydrasworld

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 12 July 2003 - 12:10 PM

thanks for the positive feedback everyone.

I'm in the process of rewriting my main website, the address of which I'll post here when it's ready (in a few days time)

This tutorial and others will be hosted there.

Great point about the serial number, i will investigate this and probably make a tutorial dedicated to that (unless I can already find a good one)

The reason you'd want to turn you xbox into a debug one is so that you can write (and PROPERLY) debug applications. Without full remote debugging you can still write programs for your xbox but if you get a problem with your program code it can be very difficult to see where it's going wrong unless you have full remote debugging.


#12 heathkit

heathkit

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 July 2003 - 03:31 PM

The remote debugging is awesome

However, now I'm unable to get our of XShell. I can't boot into something useful - linux and evox both start loading, but then crash and the led flashes orange and red. Any ideas?

#13 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 July 2003 - 04:02 PM

Oh... BTW: I'd also be willing to host this tutorial on the MXM Tutorials page (I'll have to make a dev tuts page)

Xantium would most likely want to host this here, as well.

xfactordev.net would probably also host this!

Edited by BenJeremy, 12 July 2003 - 04:02 PM.


#14 Flocool

Flocool

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 July 2003 - 03:31 PM

Hi,

first, thanks for this nice tutorial. But I have one Problem with this one: I only have a 256k Chip sad.gif. So is there any possibilty to up the Debug Bios on my Chip and go to the Evo-X Dashboard by selecting it at the XDK Launcher? This would be very cool smile.gif

CU FLOCOOL, coming from germany, so dont laugh about my english please biggrin.gif

#15 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2003 - 04:00 PM

QUOTE (Flocool @ Jul 20 2003, 12:31 PM)
Hi,

first, thanks for this nice tutorial. But I have one Problem with this one: I only have a 256k Chip sad.gif. So is there any possibilty to up the Debug Bios on my Chip and go to the Evo-X Dashboard by selecting it at the XDK Launcher? This would be very cool smile.gif

CU FLOCOOL, coming from germany, so dont laugh about my english please biggrin.gif

Check out the Phoenix BIOS Loader, it may be able to load a Debug BIOS, with a little work. Otherwise, get a Chameleon or X2, which are the only real choices for a serious developer.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users