Jump to content


Photo

Its Un-flashed!


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 L_Carry_Uk

L_Carry_Uk

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts
  • Location:England
  • Interests:XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX XBOX

Posted 15 July 2003 - 09:17 AM

i installed xbox live off of unreal championship and now it starts up on ms dashboard and i cant go back by pressing L+R+start+Select 'HELP'

#2 Veckans

Veckans

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 July 2003 - 09:35 AM

No the TSOP isn't un-flashed. You probably just need to install evox again since xbox live reorganizes som files on the HD.

#3 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 July 2003 - 09:59 AM

Holy crap, changed the thread title so it's not so annoying.

Anyway, just boot to an EvoX disc, FTP in, and fix it.

#4 ameasey

ameasey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 July 2003 - 01:39 PM

Doh! What did i tell you about not using xb live as it will screw with your xbox. Why did you even bother installing it you don't have broadband.

Have you heard the saying "Curiosity killed the cat"

Drop the box off to me at about 5:30 tonight with the backup of your HDD i gave you and i'll sort it.

Don't do it again Plonker jester.gif

#5 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 July 2003 - 01:43 PM

QUOTE (ameasey @ Jul 15 2003, 10:39 AM)
Doh! What did i tell you about not using xb live as it will screw with your xbox. Why did you even bother installing it you don't have broadband.

Have you heard the saying "Curiosity killed the cat"

Drop the box off to me at about 5:30 tonight with the backup of your HDD i gave you and i'll sort it.

Don't do it again Plonker jester.gif

Did you install EvoX for the guy by any chance? Whoever did should have named EvoX evoxdash.xbe and left the MS Dash alone. Then there would have been no problems. There's nothing wrong with updating your dash.

#6 ameasey

ameasey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 July 2003 - 02:12 PM

The only problem will come if he tries to use it on XB live and gets band. I was trying to stop him getting band so if he does not have it installed then he can't get band.

There is only one bios on the tsop so he can't use live anyway.

This way the box can be put back to its original state if he should decide to sign up to XB Live at a later date.

#7 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 July 2003 - 02:15 PM

QUOTE (ameasey @ Jul 15 2003, 11:12 AM)
The only problem will come if he tries to use it on XB live and gets band. I was trying to stop him getting band so if he does not have it installed then he can't get band.

There is only one bios on the tsop so he can't use live anyway.

This way the box can be put back to its original state if he should decide to sign up to XB Live at a later date.

There's nothing you can do to keep them from connecting to Live, other than keeping the NIC unplugged. However, preventing the Live dashboard patch from destroying the EvoX dashboard is quite easy.

And creating another XBL account will not restore the Xbox. It will require swapping the EEPROM data.

#8 ameasey

ameasey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 July 2003 - 02:20 PM

I understand that as Micro$hite band the nic's MAC address, but if he does not have the XB live dash installed then he can't connect to it. Not fool proof I know but i he comes around after connecting to live then it gets a little trickier to fix.

I could set it up so that evox boots from the f drive aswell if he so wishes.



#9 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 July 2003 - 02:25 PM

shanafan, take note. MS is now banning MAC addresses.

#10 Rob3121

Rob3121

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Interests:Xbox

Posted 16 July 2003 - 04:48 PM

QUOTE (ameasey @ Jul 15 2003, 10:39 AM)
Doh!  What did i tell you about not using xb live as it will screw with your xbox. Why did you even bother installing it you don't have broadband.

Have you heard the saying "Curiosity killed the cat"

Drop the box off to me at about 5:30 tonight with the backup of your HDD i gave you and i'll sort it.

Don't do it again Plonker  jester.gif

If he cannot connect it then what the hell are you worried about?

p.s. Xeero laugh.gif

Edited by Rob3121, 16 July 2003 - 04:49 PM.


#11 rahula

rahula

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 983 posts
  • Location:KaLiFoRnIa
  • Interests:boose,food and chicks. Yeah Xbox too..
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 July 2003 - 04:55 PM

QUOTE (Xeero @ Jul 15 2003, 04:25 PM)
shanafan, take note.  MS is now banning MAC addresses.

WTF.....they are banning MAC address now? ohmy.gif
Yeah. Shanafan, no more 5th account for you now. Joking man. You are the pro on that subject matter. Very interesting. unsure.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users