Jump to content


Photo

The Largest Single Harddrive


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:41 AM

What's the largest possible harddrive to use for Xbox? And where can I find a tutorial on how to "lock it"?

#2 Supplicium

Supplicium

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 894 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:44 AM

u can put any size hdd but it will only read up too 137gb. and www.xbox-scene.com click on tutorials for the tut. and do a search next time... thx.

#3 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:45 AM

The sky's the limit on what you want to buy. The Xbox will only recognize 137GB of it, though. The hard drive with the lowest capacity-to-waste ratio would be a 160GB drive. It will accomodate the entire 137GB limit, and only go 12GB over that. A 140GB will come in 7GB under the limit (that's 7GB you could be filling with backups).

#4 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2003 - 02:11 AM

Alright, bare with me cause I'm BRAND NEW AT THIS. I'm gonna try to get a 160 GB harddrive for my xbox.

First lemme start off with basic questions

1.) What do I need to FTP exactly?
2.) Does locking/unlocking really become a huge part of this? I've heard with Slayers new CD, it doesn't matter what kind of HD you purchase

Edited by koperownz, 28 July 2003 - 02:13 AM.


#5 unsc1

unsc1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2003 - 02:27 AM

All you need to know can be found by here and here.


#6 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2003 - 02:44 AM

You could have just put up answers in the time it took you to make those links.

Just answer the questions please.

I know "FTPing" might be common sense to you guys, but I just need to know, what do you need to "FTP?"

#7 EvilWays

EvilWays

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,333 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 28 July 2003 - 03:42 AM

An FTP client and a network connection between the PC and Xbox. There's tutorials for this... dry.gif

BTW, locking a HDD is only important if you ever need to get to the M$ dash with the modchip disabled and/or if you ever go on Xbox Live. And no, Slayers won't lock all HDD...there are some that don't follow the standards exactly (cuz the standard that included HDD locking is old), so not all manufacturers include the locking options in all models. Neither will ConfigMagic (tried it with my Maxtor 40GB and ConfigMagic says no).

Edited by EvilWays, 28 July 2003 - 04:14 AM.


#8 bigga

bigga

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 28 July 2003 - 08:23 AM

i have had a lot of luck with newHDEvox installer, i have used it on 4 of my friends 120Gb HDDs, and they are up and running within 20 seconds, and not 1 problem yet

#9 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:13 PM

So would I be good getting any harddrive 120GB or over? I mean I do wanna lock it because I do use the M$ dash sometimes...

#10 boxorox

boxorox

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:44 PM

QUOTE (koperownz @ Jul 28 2003, 02:13 PM)
So would I be good getting any harddrive 120GB or over? I mean I do wanna lock it because I do use the M$ dash sometimes...

Your ? is a little unclear. I have a Maxtor 160GB and am very happy smile.gif . I garauntee you would be also.
But, that's not a money back garauntee laugh.gif

#11 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2003 - 12:57 PM

Yeah, I'm probably gonna end up going the route of getting what you have. Does Maxtor make different models of their 160GB harddrive that I should take note of? Can it be locked/unlocked?

#12 boxorox

boxorox

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2003 - 01:10 PM

I am pretty sure there is more than one model of 160GB by Maxtor. Because I have seen some people say they are loud!#@!$ This is not the case at all with mine. Very quiet. It is also lockable.
Maxtor 160GB
DiamondMax Plus
Buffer Size: 8MB
7200rpm
Ultra ATA/133
Kit: L01P160
S/N: Y41MTPDE






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users