Jump to content


Photo

What Modchip Is This?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 adam7288

adam7288

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 09:32 PM

A while back, around december, I purchased a premodded xbox online through some person who only accepted paypal. Since then, I have wanted to flash the bios with something more up to date, but I don't even know where to begin with this 1st gen mod chip.

It has 29 wires, so if anyone can tell me wher i can go from here, I'd appreciate it. Here is a picture I took of it:

user posted image

#2 gamingguru

gamingguru

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 622 posts
  • Location:KC
  • Interests:Xbox<br />programming<br />Racing cars
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 August 2003 - 09:35 PM

I don't think that the old 29 wire mods where designed to be reflashed.
However, I know that you might be able to reflash it because a
friend of mine reflsashed one of my old chips with a programmer he had laying around.

#3 bigga

bigga

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 04 August 2003 - 09:38 PM

Looks like a 29 wire 'homebrew' mod. Tutorial found here

#4 adam7288

adam7288

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 10:25 PM

thanks, but i am looking for something with a little less lingo and more plain english to explain how i can program the chip. What exactly do I hook it up to?

#5 GameShopUSA

GameShopUSA

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 10:38 PM

The older chips are quite outdated, you may be better off quickly unsoldering the chip (no desoldering braid needed, just a quick dab of the wire) and soldering in a X-ecuter 2.2 Lite/Pro or a Chameleon.

#6 adam7288

adam7288

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 04 August 2003 - 11:02 PM

how would i go about removing the mod without hurting the xbox? Just rip it off and all the wires with it?

#7 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 04 August 2003 - 11:25 PM

QUOTE (adam7288 @ Aug 4 2003, 08:02 PM)
how would i go about removing the mod without hurting the xbox? Just rip it off and all the wires with it?

I hope you're joking... You would desolder the wires, though cutting them would work fine, too.

#8 LinksAwakening

LinksAwakening

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,218 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 04 August 2003 - 11:29 PM

Aren't those Homebrew's Flashable through EvolutionX?

#9 * illusion *

* illusion *

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 04 August 2003 - 11:47 PM

Gen 1 chips cant be flashed.

#10 jaysoccer7c

jaysoccer7c

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 420 posts
  • Location:nj, usa
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 August 2003 - 02:32 AM

y is the IDE cable in that blue thing? i never saw that b4

#11 * illusion *

* illusion *

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 05 August 2003 - 03:05 AM

You've never seen rounded IDE cables?

#12 jaysoccer7c

jaysoccer7c

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 420 posts
  • Location:nj, usa
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 August 2003 - 02:25 PM

not in the box...are they in certain versions or did he replace his?

Edited by jaysoccer7c, 05 August 2003 - 02:26 PM.


#13 Rob3121

Rob3121

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Interests:Xbox

Posted 05 August 2003 - 07:25 PM

QUOTE
not in the box...are they in certain versions or did he replace his?


no dude, he just replaced the orignal cable

#14 xboxfiddler

xboxfiddler

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 August 2003 - 07:53 PM

You can flash GEN 1 modchips using evox.

But..

chances are it does not have the additional two wires connected to allow you to flash it.
count the wires, if there is 31/32, chances are its ready to flash. If its only 29/30, (I can only see about 24 in the pic) then the only way would be to add the two wires as per the tutorial:

http://www.xbox-scen...ashhomebrew.php

To remove it (the chip is not in a socket by the looks of it) cut the wires off and just make sure the ends dont short to anything or each other. Unless the onboard bios is disabled by a link on the motherboard - which you would then find and cut - it will just revert back to the original chip.

hth
good luck smile.gif


#15 LinksAwakening

LinksAwakening

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,218 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 05 August 2003 - 08:02 PM

Had the chip been socketed, you could also flash it using your PC...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users