6 replies to this topic

#1 ProdigyXP

ProdigyXP

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 128 posts

Posted 07 August 2003 - 05:32 PM

I just posted this question in the xsnes9x forum, but figured I would try asking here as there seems to be a lot of smart people here. biggrin.gif

Let me start by saying that I am fairly new to running non-MS software on my XBOX. I just got up and running a few days ago.

Anyway, my question(s):

Can I just run the xsnes9x emulator (with roms) from a DVD, and it will not write anything to my xbox hard drive? I have read a few posts in different places where some users were having problems seeing roms, etc, but that really didn't tell me if anything would be written to the hard drive (and if something is written, where and what is it?).

The reason for even asking is that I would really like to know where things are being written in case I want to remove a certain program completely from my hard drive. I did FTP all my partitions to my PC before doing anything, but I really only want to restore that backup in an emergency, not for when I just want to remove remnants of a single program that I want to remove. Considering how many folders and partitions were already there on my drive before any modifications (not to mention the file/folder names being nearly impossible to decipher what program they relate to), it can be difficult, in my opinion, to locate a specific "program" to be removed.

Again, just for clarity (as this message is longer than I intended!):

Can I run xsnes9x strictly from a DVD.
Would it write *anything* to my hard drive?
If it does write something, what and where is it?

Additionally, if I chose to install xsnes9x to the hard drive in say "e:emusxsnes9x", would any files that need to be written by the program stay within that structure, or would they appear some place else?

Thanks for any help, and if this has been covered before, I apologize, as I didn't find this answer even after having searched.

#2 Scan-C

Scan-C