Jump to content


Photo

Can I Play Dvds Without The Dvd Kit?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 XanTium

XanTium

    Xanta Powa!

  • Admin
  • 3,110 posts
  • Location:Solaris
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 October 2002 - 04:14 PM

Yes it's possible with homebrew software called DVD-X 2 released by X-ecuter team.

EDIT:

And since 2005-09-12 you can also use XBMC´s built in DVD player with full dvd menu support!

Edited by JayDee, 21 September 2005 - 12:58 PM.


#2 easye082

easye082

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 141 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 March 2003 - 07:39 PM

yep, works great...even has great zoom feature...i love it

#3 The Quest

The Quest

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 28 April 2003 - 08:37 PM

Does it have to be mod ?

#4 neonman

neonman

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 18 May 2003 - 07:36 PM

Yes DVD-X is hombrew software so yes you need a mod chip to run it

#5 xahur

xahur

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts

Posted 20 June 2003 - 08:04 PM

however, it dont seem to be working with a remote. at least not the hurricane remote!

#6 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 23 June 2003 - 03:24 PM

QUOTE (xahur @ Jun 20 2003, 05:04 PM)
however, it dont seem to be working with a remote. at least not the hurricane remote!

DVDX2 does not work with the remote...it is it's own software.
DVDX is a hacked MS Dashboard...it works with the remote.

I think you're using DVDX2 when you should be using DVDX.

#7 kof2002

kof2002

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 05:52 PM

will my xbox with xecuter 2.1 lite with the regular linux cromwell bios run this program? if not i can flash the chip with new bios on disc right? uhh.gif

#8 juleskitten

juleskitten

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 17 July 2003 - 03:55 AM

Surely the dvd kit just puts a file on the xbox? why doesn't somebody just find out what that is and distribute it so that people can action replay or ftp it?

#9 jdtommy

jdtommy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 July 2003 - 08:50 PM

You might want to try the XBMP 2.4 It works great for playing any type of media

#10 slidellsimba2

slidellsimba2

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,150 posts
  • Location:N'awlins
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2003 - 12:28 PM

it might but i dont use linux so i cant swear on it
but you COULD always reflash the bios and youll be ok

#11 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 July 2003 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE (slidellsimba2 @ Jul 20 2003, 09:28 AM)
it might but i dont use linux so i cant swear on it
but you COULD always reflash the bios and youll be ok

No, Cromwell won't run ANYTHING that isn't Linux-based.

#12 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 July 2003 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE (juleskitten @ Jul 17 2003, 12:55 AM)
Surely the dvd kit just puts a file on the xbox? why doesn't somebody just find out what that is and distribute it so that people can action replay or ftp it?

No, it doesn't put any files on the Xbox. It's a dongle. The software detects if it's present or now.

#13 splash911

splash911

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 22 July 2003 - 01:35 PM

QUOTE (jdtommy @ Jul 18 2003, 10:50 PM)
You might want to try the XBMP 2.4 It works great for playing any type of media

Except while trying to play a Video-DVD disc ...

#14 Tuumi

Tuumi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 September 2003 - 04:12 PM

QUOTE (Xeero @ Jun 23 2003, 05:24 PM)
QUOTE (xahur @ Jun 20 2003, 05:04 PM)
however, it dont seem to be working with a remote. at least not the hurricane remote!

DVDX2 does not work with the remote...it is it's own software.
DVDX is a hacked MS Dashboard...it works with the remote.

I think you're using DVDX2 when you should be using DVDX.

Does DVD-X work on every version of xbox?

I've tried to get R1 dvd's work with remote, but since I have 1.2 xbox people have told me that DVDX doesnt work with other than 1.1.. sad.gif

#15 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 October 2003 - 12:31 PM

It will work with version 1.2+, but with the version of the dash that comes with the 1.2, as far as I know. There have been a few recent region-free patches for the newer MS Dash version recently. I want to say the guy working on them was name Sylver, but I could be wrong.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users