Jump to content


Photo

Can I Upgrade My Hard Drive To A Larger Unit ?


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#31 brahm2

brahm2

    Internet Superstar

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,003 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Interests:I'm an EE student at the UofS in Saskatoon. I love guitar and drinking beer.. sometimes both.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 May 2004 - 04:35 AM

QUOTE (crazyjeet @ May 19 2004, 11:47 PM)
Ummm.. nobody told me if I can use a 400gig hd in the xbox... If nobody knows, please just say so. that way I dont feel like I am ignored.

I answered your question on April 8, the same day you posted.

"crazyjeet - with the LBA48 patch, hard drives can be supported up to 2.2 terabytes. They don't even make HDDs that big yet
As long as the drives are IDE/ATA it should work. "

So.. yes, assuming your 400Gb hard drive is the correct format to be installed in the Xbox (ATA) it will work.

#32 crazyjeet

crazyjeet

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 20 May 2004 - 06:24 PM

Thank you, I looked and saw no post like that but I believe yahz.

Thanks for the info!

#33 Bertosai

Bertosai

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 May 2004 - 11:08 PM

QUOTE (Mansemat @ Apr 21 2004, 07:45 AM)
I have an original ver 1.0 Xbox that the HDD just died in about a week ago. My question is if I were to get a modchip and install a new HDD would I run into any problems due to the fact that the HDD needs a key from the EEPROM to be unlocked? Also what process would I have to go through if it is possible?

I would really hate to invest in a new HDD and modchip just to find out that I can't use either because I need the key from the original HDD that just so happens to be dead.

I have the same problem. I didn't see a response. Anyone can help out. My HDD is dead making a oud knocking sound (as if it is seeking but louder.)

#34 brahm2

brahm2

    Internet Superstar

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,003 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Interests:I'm an EE student at the UofS in Saskatoon. I love guitar and drinking beer.. sometimes both.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 May 2004 - 05:50 PM

QUOTE (Bertosai @ May 23 2004, 07:08 PM)
I have the same problem. I didn't see a response. Anyone can help out. My HDD is dead making a oud knocking sound (as if it is seeking but louder.)

If you install a modchip, you should have no problems upgrading the hard drive, and you shouldn't need to worry about unlocking the old one.

As long as the chip can boot, you'll be able to boot up to SlaYers from a CD-RW, and format the new hard drive from there.

#35 Roj X. Mugwump

Roj X. Mugwump

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 356 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 May 2004 - 07:12 AM

whats the best way to copy across savegames from my old 80gig hd to my
new 160gig...?!? i have all my originals so the games arent a prob, just the
saves...

Cheers

roj, (i dont have a memory card...)



#36 ikar

ikar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 June 2004 - 09:36 PM

QUOTE (brahm2 @ May 24 2004, 07:50 PM)
If you install a modchip, you should have no problems upgrading the hard drive, and you shouldn't need to worry about unlocking the old one.

As long as the chip can boot, you'll be able to boot up to SlaYers from a CD-RW, and format the new hard drive from there.

I am in a similiar situation. I have the SlaYers burned and all, and I have an x.b.i.t modchip with the the xecuter2 4983 bios...anyways, I want to format a 120gb so that I can use it with my xbox.


First of all, I want to unlock my xbox retail hard drive. How would I go about doing that? Is there anything I need to know before I do it?

Secondly, if I format a 120gb hard drive from the slayers cd, do I need anything special? Like eeprom or something? Or is that obtained automattically? (See I'm a complete noob to this and I don't wanna screw up. Better safe then sorry I'd say)

#37 PistolWhip

PistolWhip

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 June 2004 - 10:45 PM

Choosing between a "SEAGATE 120GB BARRACUDA 7200RPM HD ATA/100 8.5ms(Refurbished), 6 Month SEAGATE WARRANTY" for $79, including shipping, and a "Maxtor DiamondMax 80 Gb ATA/133 7200 RPM" with a 2mb buffer and 9.4ms seek time, which would you choose for $69, including shipping and 30 day warranty, which would you choose?

I think I've read that Maxtors have better compatibility than other drives... is this true? Is there going to be much of a difference between 2mb and 8mb cache drives- is it worth the extra money? and finally, how fast would an 80 Gb drive fill up if I'm backing up games on it, and/or emulators-- would the seagate have compatibility problems?

Thanks a ton.

#38 Baner

Baner

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Location:In bed, With your mom.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 June 2004 - 05:29 PM

@PistolWhip
I'm not too sure of the differences between an 8 mb cache and a 2 mb, i'd go with the 8 mb just cause it's a larger number tongue.gif , as for the size, think of a game as 4-6 gigz. I've had a few problems with Maxtors in my computer, but i'm running a 120 gig maxtor in my xbox and have had no problems. I'm planning on upgrading my hdd to something like a 200 gig, so i'd suggest the more space the better, but this is all just my opinon.

#39 chief7

chief7

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 101 posts

Posted 25 June 2004 - 12:20 PM

can you upgrade the hdd if you only use the non-chip mechwarrior hack?



#40 andrews_new_id

andrews_new_id

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 29 June 2004 - 11:11 PM

I am going to use the cromwell bios. Can I swap the hard drive once I flash the onboard TSOP chip? If so, do I need to get a hold of a "slayers cd"? that people have talked about to reformat the drive into the xbox standard partitions before I install linux, or does the linux install process even need the multiple partitions?

So I am going to pull out my old hard drive (original factory drive) and be using the new one. If I decide to go back and play games at some point in the future, can I run raincoat from inside of a linux distro on the replacement (larger) hard drive and reflash with my original factory bios?

#41 cadavra

cadavra

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  • Location:wherever
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 July 2004 - 06:16 PM

Hey chief, yes you can upgrade your hd when only using an exploit, for more details scour the exploit forums. wink.gif

#42 funperro

funperro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 06:39 PM

Today I followed the instructions at http://www.xbox-scen...hdd-install.php to upgrade my harddrive. I first backed up my old harddrive, used the xboxHDprepare proggie on the new drive, installed the new drive in the xbox, booted up the xbox using a bootable evox CD, formatted partitions 1-6 through commands via FTP, and finally copied over drive C and drive E that I backed up from the factory hard drive.

Ok.. I then booted up the xbox, and it went to the evox dashboard... just like it did with the old hard drive. But my problem now is this: the only applications I'm able to run is evox and xbmc. I can't get any of the other games that were previously running fine on my old hard drive to load up. Whats wrong here? Any ideas? To run a game, in the past I always found the xbe file corresponding to the game and would execute it through xbmc or evox. This again is the method I'm using with the new hard drive, and I can't get it to work with either of them. When I run the game's xbe file, it just kicks me back to the evox main menu.

Any suggestions?


#43 stickyc

stickyc

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 July 2004 - 05:26 PM

What happens if I install a larger hard drive in a modded XBox, then turn off the mod chip? Does the system continue to recognize/use the new drive?

#44 PlasticThreat

PlasticThreat

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 July 2004 - 11:39 PM

I'm just making sure I have everything straight here...

If I have a ModChip in my XBox, do I need to do any locking/unlocking of hard drives to get more than 137gb?

Will I just be able to use a larger HDD without making any changes to the HDD before puting it in the XBox?

#45 forthex

forthex

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2004 - 01:00 AM

just a random question (not to random), can i connect a USB HD through a controller port (i have the USB female to xbox male adapter from lik-sang.com) and use it as my primary or a secondary storage drive? I would also like to know how can take the IDE cable from the HDD and rig it so takes up the fourth controller port as a USB female or an Xbox controller female port? is anything i am asking possible?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users