Jump to content


Photo

Halo On Hdd No Longer Works


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 September 2003 - 01:16 PM

Hi,

Halo was the first game I bought and the first on the HDD. It has worked perfectly until now. Now the game intro video runs up to the warning of "scenes of horror" etc then hangs. The original game (DVD) still runs fine.

I figure that something has corrupted on the HDD so I copy it over again into a new directory... same problem. WTF?

I rechecked all my other games and Serious Sam did precisely the same thing once, then ran ok. Halo seems rooted though.

What would cause this do you think?. I have not changed anything recently on the xbox apart from a lot of case mods.

Any ideas appreciated.

Edited by Anomaly, 02 September 2003 - 01:17 PM.


#2 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2003 - 01:02 AM

Bumpity bump... has anyone had games stop working on the HDD?

#3 Novahux

Novahux

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,180 posts
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2003 - 01:04 AM

did you clear out the xyz drives ? may be a cache corruption.

#4 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2003 - 07:24 AM

Good idea. I deleted everything from X, Y and Z but Halo still refuses to start up. Really weird.

Maybe my poor xbox has just had one hack too many.

#5 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2003 - 02:06 PM

Aw MAN!...I just read one of the noob FAQs and discovered that the version of Evox I am using (latest) is buggy, especially if you use IGR. So, I turn off IGR and hey - it works perfectly!.

Doh! At least my xbox is ok, it thought it might have been screwed. biggrin.gif

#6 Sidewinder007z

Sidewinder007z

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts

Posted 03 September 2003 - 08:07 PM

Just another thing FYI.

If you use the first 4978 release bios, Halo will not work.

Seems like you got it figured out, just wanna pass on that tidbit.


#7 LEDHaywire

LEDHaywire

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts

Posted 03 September 2003 - 08:40 PM

flash the new x2 4978.03 bios, the issue has been fixed

#8 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2003 - 12:28 AM

Can you flash 512k BIOS to the TSOP? I mean, mine is a 1 Mb TSOP, but the xbox assumes a 256k BIOS so I can't see it working, but maybe...

#9 Gladiator-180

Gladiator-180

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 04 September 2003 - 01:30 AM

QUOTE (Anomaly @ Sep 3 2003, 04:06 PM)
Aw MAN!...I just read one of the noob FAQs and discovered that the version of Evox I am using (latest) is buggy, especially if you use IGR. So, I turn off IGR and hey - it works perfectly!.

Doh! At least my xbox is ok, it thought it might have been screwed. biggrin.gif

what is IGR

#10 Novahux

Novahux

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,180 posts
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2003 - 01:49 AM

QUOTE
what is IGR

Irritating gonad rash


#11 Anomaly

Anomaly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2003 - 04:44 AM

[I]n [G]ame [R]eset - a feature of Evox and many BIOS's. Buggy in the latest Evox so not recommended.

Edited by Anomaly, 04 September 2003 - 04:45 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users