QUOTE(tk_saturn @ Feb 3 2011, 02:23 AM)
If you used the console to transfer them, then the files will be overwritten and you're probably stuffed.
It will be the same as when you quick format a drive. The actual contents will still be there, but the index of those contents will have been overwritten with a blank-ish index. You're not going to be able to recover the previous version of the file which contains that index.
Thanks, I greatly appreciate the quick response. Guess I should start recovering my gamertag now.
The part that really irks me is that I moved from a clunky looking 16GB SDHC card in a generic USB 2.0 adapter to a Lexar 8GB USB flash drive. Bad enough losing all my saves, but my Borderlands stuff REALLY hurts - had several characters on the go, including four lvl 69 (one from each class). Irritating that so much time can be lost and no one will do anything (I doubt Lexar would recover the data from the chip for me, for example).
I've been trying to solve this problem for hours and I'm pretty much ready to give up now.
Again, many thanks, tk_saturn.